You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saturday Musings: I Suck at Customer Service!

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I've spent a good part of my years in the service field as well. Home service, perhaps a bit different from others. I've found the best way for me to keep my integrity is to not make promises (just too easy), not take on a job if I don't have the right person (or myself) to fulfill the contract, and to keep everything straight by being honest with both myself and the client.

I'm there to solve a problem. Their problem not mine. So it's important to ask the right questions sometimes. As well as pointing out important facts that the client hasn't even considered.

You can't put a tree that is shading shade plants back once taking it out and exposing those plants to more sun than they can handle. You can't put the black top back (without taking a loss) if you accept a job on their terms because they want it pressure washed now to do it fast and cheaper. Rather than use proper procedure and allow the soap/solution to work and a good physical brushing before gently pressure washing. Those jobs/clients are best left to fend for themselves.

Still, as mentioned above...the Rule of 10 applies here too. Putting out fires is no way to run a business...unless of course that is your business.

Sort:  

Thanks for the good thoughts... some people just can be made happy, no matter what. I remember seeing that in my former retail store... there were even a handful of people we-- quite literally-- "fired" as customers because their behavior was SO unreasonable (and costly) we didn't want to deal with them. And we figured most of their friends would also be aware that they were chronic complainers...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39