You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology of the Steem Follower

in #psychology7 years ago

Hi @slobberchops

"Steemit is different than other social media platforms in that it rewards. "
I totally agree. As a social media marketer I realized that this platform is very unique. Not only because we have ratings, we can get paid, our vote matter etc.
One HUGE difference that you seem to forget is the fact that "wallets" are fully transparent for everyone.

This change everything. I realized that myself (and others) are judging others by value of their wallet. Because we all want to receive valuable upvotes.
Who cares about 100 upvotes of those who have almost no steem power, right? We rather focus on building engagement with small group of people that actually have some voting power.

  1. Yes
  2. YES
  3. NO
    My target audience are those who have around same stash of steem power as I do.
    I tried to engage with newbies but I found it pointless because most of them dissapear very fast.
    So the way I see it is simple: if you invested at least 100$ then you're serious about steemit and then you may be worth my time.
    At the same time if I see that someone has way more SP than I do then I also dont bother because I know I will be ignored.

I noticed that you and @steevc are very active and helpful so right away I decided to reach out to both of you.

  1. YES
  2. Not really. It's flattering to receive upvotes but it doesnt really matter. If I want to make $$$ then I would use bots and delegate my SP.

Another great article. I love it.

Sort:  

You do raise some interesting points. Yes the wallets are transparent to everyone and I for one have looked at others' wallets to see how much they bulge. Thats OK, we can do that just because we can. I have also tried to interact with the 'big wallet' guys for the wrong reasons in the past, but they usually are not interested. At that point I have unfollowed them.

I dont do this anymore because even though they may take an interest and interact with me, if their subject content is of no interest to me, I dont want to respond about articles I do not care about.

Your other point of 'Who cares about 100 upvotes of those who have almost no steem power' is an interesting point to look at. I do actually follow some people who have no or little power because they do write good articles and that interest me. Also because they have a slim wallet now does not mean this will be the case in the future.

I myself joined only 5 weeks ago and had an account valued at $0.17 (the start value). I have since invested in Steem because I love it, I think it has a future, and yes I wanted some attention and have managed to get some now. With Steemit you get only what you put into it, and thats work.. ie.. Proof of Brain... thanks for the analogy @teamhumble! But putting some fiat into it helps at lot too, with bigger author rewards and bigger curation rewards. If you can, then I would suggest you and others do this.

'At the same time if I see that someone has way more SP than I do then I also dont bother because I know I will be ignored.'

This is not always the case. It depends on the person you are interacting with. If you take @steevc as example, we connected due to out music tastes being similar and me responding to a really old post he did months ago. I have other people I regularly connect to who have considerablly more SP than myself but they dont ignore me.

There are no hard fixed rules. You have to make your own!

I noticed you have a rather large one. That means of course either that you are filthy rich and can throw a few hundred quid at a toy on a whim or that you are a little bit rich and take steemit seriously. My wife and I are very poor but we invested what we could scrape together because this is, for the time being at least, our lives and future. I envy you your ability to jump-start your career here, but not the green, steem coming out my ears kind of envy. Just the mild, damn, wish I could do that kind of envy.

If you do it well steemit is fun. Glad to see you doing it well. Good on you, sport.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Yes I have invested in the EcoSystem because I think its unique and has a great future. I for one wish I had 'got in' much earlier as I probably wouldn't have needed to do what I did to catapult myself forward a little.

I am however working class and have a boring 9-5 like most others do. I really wish I was filthy rich and could ditch the job, I would do it tomorrow.

Thank you for your valuable reply. I realized long before that you're very knowledgable and responsive but I never expected that you would put so much time and effort to reply.
BIG THX!

I figured out that so called "whales" will be probably not interested in keeping in touch with small players (as we are). We're nobodies here at the moment. But we're ahead of others and within a year we actually can have solid influence on this platform. And influence can be always monetized. That's the fact.

We're both on the same page and I see things exacly the way you do. Which is kind of boring hehehe :)

I also decided to avoid whales because many of them may be a threat to you. Whales like to play "police" and they are very violent and brutal with their actions. It's best to stay out of radar and engaging with whales can bring unwanted attention (that's always a risk that we need to take into consideration).

When I wrote "Who cares about 100 upvotes of those who have almost no steem power" I actually really didnt mean it.
My goal here is to get to know interesting people from this growing industry. I see blockchain as a lifechanging chance. Something that will create enormous opportunities. So Im looking for valuable connections. Im looking for right people.
That's also why I reached out to you. Because I read your previous comments and I liked them.

But at the same time I know that my quote reflect majority of population on steemit. Because most people out there have very different goals.

Thanks for the plaudits but I dont feel im very knowledgable on Steem.. yet any way. Im only 5 weeks old here, but I do try and respond to everyone and all messages.

As for whales, yes they can destroy your reputation number but not necessarily your credability or SP. I dont interact with any so my knowledge there is minimal.

There is a lot of growth potential and I love these peeps who do good articles and teach me something thats out of my sphere of knowledge.

I also just started few weeks ago so we're on the same page.

I noticed that we share some passions. Hope to stay in touch with you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62