What Color Are You: Red, Blue, White or Yellow?

in #psychology7 years ago

Life is about relationships which requires understanding and communication. The importance is, your behavior and motives for yourself, get to know who you are and what drives you.

About two years into my divorce, I started to feel overwhelmed by my responsibilities and children which were totally out of control (actually I was out of control). I was at wit's end with my children, as I felt I lost control and realized that they are "ruling the roost".

At that specific time I was blessed with a friend in my church who offered some of our "single parents" a workshop on parenting, and asked me if I cared to join them. He happened to be one of Dr. Taylor Hartman's qualified coaches on "Color Coding Personalities" here in South Africa. I gladly excepted, not knowing how this will benefit me, not only with my kids but with all I come in contact with in the years to come.

This helped me to understand myself (I discovered what my driving core motive was, who I am, how I think and feel) and each of my children. We were taught the driving core motives and the "do's" and "dont's" of each personality. It was mind blowing the difference it made knowing what drove each child's behavior and how to treat them so I can bring out the best in them. We finally became a unit again, me taking back the majority of control with the assistance of each child.

Who is Dr. Hartman?


Image Credit

Dr. Hartman has a master’s degree in psychology, and a doctorate in corporate leadership training. He is the developer and author of "The Color Code", which helps us understand the unique complexities of human behaviors and relationships.

What is "The Color Code"?


Image Credit

"The Color Code" helps you discover who you are, as we are all born with certain core personalities. There are many test psychologists use like the MBTI, DISC, Strength Finder etc., to find out what drives us and who we are before they can council you. Most of these test looks at "What you do" (your behavioral pattern) where "The Color Code" looks at "Why you do, what you do" (your driving core motive).

It helps you to take a look at your interactions with others and to take a 100% responsibility for your success in life and your relationships. It creates self awareness, improve personal performance, how you interact and communicate with others.

A look at the different color personalities.


Image Credit

Blue: Motivated by commitments and intimacy – people matter most to them– they want to connect on a deep and meaningful level – are very loyal and sincere,

White: Motivated by Peace – feeling of inner harmony is of utmost importance to them – they are diplomatic and will do anything to avoid conflict – they are objective and the voice of reason in society.

Yellow: Motivated by Fun – living in and for the moment is their motto – they are spontaneous and optimistic.

Red: Motivated by Power – They are logic and determined – They do not let emotions interfere with their tasks.


Image Credit

I am not a psychologist, only a mother which learned by attending a course on "The Color Code" gaining some valuable tools to deal with myself, my children and those I work with and meet.

If you are interested in learning more, follow these links:

More about Dr. Taylor Hartman, and here you can take the personality test:
https://taylorhartman.com/

If you want to purchase the book:
https://www.amazon.com/Color-Code-Taylor-Hartman-Ph-D/dp/1880674033

A video to inform you:

Keep loving, smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!

Sort:  

nice post @crazymumzysa i like thanks for sharing

Thank you very much Silvia. It was quite interesting and helped me look at people with a better understanding. I still fail a lot, but trying to figure out what personality the person has and how to work with them to reach the best results is very rewarding.

Definitely a Red. I added this to the Steemit social media queue.

Thank you very much, that is so kind of you. I am a blue. I should have asked people to take the test and tell me their color. Would be quite interesting. Enjoy a lovely weekend.

I love this post, seems White speak itself, it's my favourite colour <3 Thank you for sharing @crazymumzysa

Thank you fernwehninja. I love to learn about the influences that makes people who they are, how they think and how they can change. The human mind is facinating.

Very nice and interesting . Happy Sunday @crazymumzysa! :-))

Thank you for your support, I truly appreciate it. The questionare to find out your color is on the link above and it is for free. They ssk you 45 questions. What color do you think you are?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36