You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you consider yourself beautiful? □ Yes □ No

in #psychology8 years ago

Cliche': Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

We are primarily visual creatures and our minds were and are conditioned to see things according to what the world believes to be beautiful. Symmetry contributes greatly to how we perceive things as beautiful. So are patterns. Any imbalance constitute imperfection, ugliness. Any diversion from patterns may be considered distortion.

Beauty is emanated from the VALUE of things we see, feel, hear, smell, or think. Beauty progresses or regresses by the VALUE it provides and how that value APPEALS to the onlooker.

Thus the cliche'.

Sort:  

Did I understand correctly your idea? You're talking about internal and external beauty. Right?

I am talking about external beauty that is and should be influenced by how beautiful we are inside. External beauty fades when we are ugly inside. Physical beauty only lasts for a time until it does not matter anymore or when it loses its VALUE. Beauty is nothing without VALUE. And when I talk about VALUE, I refer to the importance or significance of a thing to me.

A flower can be very beautiful to you because it appeals to your senses. But maybe not to me because I don't feel or see its value. It is not appealing to me. Therefore its beauty is not evident to me. On the other hand, you would not say a mycorrhizal fungi is beautiful because you are not familiar with it and it looks strange. But to me, it's beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42