What Other People Think of You is None of Your Business

in #psychology7 years ago

keep-calm-it-s-none-of-your-business.png

I have struggled much of my life with conflicting internal views regarding what I perceived that others thought of me, what I knew others thought of me, & how those thoughts lined up with my own internal dialogue hasn't always been healthy or realistic. Someone who knew of my difficulties once told me something pretty profound:

Chelsea, what others think of you is none of your business.

I was taken aback. I sort of stuttered, "well, yes it is, what about my reputation??"
( Yeah pretty important on steemit.... but I digress )

I was told my reputation was what I made it which is true. If my reputation was bad, I would be constantly shunned. I'm not. Even if I had a bad reputation with one person that could be changed. It is unlikely to change a person's first impression of you or if they have a bad opinion of you, but not impossible. Oftentimes, how you left something off with a person is paramount as well. People tend to remember the end of things

I've always been a very introverted person. That's why I love my profession in physical therapy. I get to work one on one with people.
Don't get me wrong I have my extroverted side, you'd see it at a steemfest. Lol.

While being introverted can be a good attribute in many ways, it also has you in your head a lot, and probably overthinking things. For me that has caused me over the years to drastically overthink what others think about me which is obviously counterproductive at best. It has caused me a lot of undue stress & anxiety which depletes my energy.

So why is it none of my business??

  1. I can't change their opinion. (Debatable, but not worth debating)
  2. I can not control another's thoughts about me or their behaviours towards me.

Understanding those two concepts above has helped my anxiety a lot. As long as I do my best to do right by myself & humanity, the rest is history.
20171210_194757.jpg

Those are some roses still hanging on in this collld weather! Anyway, hope this blog makes some sense & can help someone. Thanks for reading & feel free to drop a comment below.

(image one = Google image)

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing yourself. You would love Don Migel Ruiz's book the four agreement.

The Four Agreements

  1. Be impeccable with your word.
  2. Don’t take anything personally.
  3. Don’t make assumptions.
  4. Always do your best.

Love that!! Most excellent. Thanks for sharing

Thank you for very personal post, followed your blog

I'm glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks

Life is very hard 👇
And life is very love
Lol 👈

An unexpected response :)

Congratulations @chelsea88! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this is sooo true! I think most people are struggling with that! At least I do too. Always thinking about what others think about me, what opinion they have about me etc. But you're right, we can't change their opinion or thoughts anyway! And it's not our business. thanks for sharing, have a nice Sunday!

Couldn't agree more! Neither of us has ever been outside of their mind (okay, true, I've been out of my mind on occasion) but we all have all kinds of thoughts about all sorts of things (and people!) which are completely our own, and nobody else's business. Similarly it's only fair to let others think whatever they want, and go on doing things as if they didn't matter (which they really don't).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.03
ETH 2645.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69