You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I was Spanked and I Turned Out OK—or did I?

in #psychology8 years ago

I love this article. I just followed you.
I want to write one comparing child abuse to war mentality. Here is an extreme case: Hitler was severely abused by his Jewish grandfather, and then murdered millions of people.

So, some people say that spanking "works." Sure, it might stop a kid from doing something at the moment, but it does nothing to empower them to positive behavior in the future. It doesn't empower them at all, so isn't the best thing to do.

When people say, "I was spanked and turned out ok..." Do they mean that they are not murderers and pimps? Are they living as fulfilled a life as they could have?

I like to compare child rearing to computer programming. Every interaction with my children is adding code to their brains, which will be expressed when they are grown. What code are we adding when we punish or criticize? We are adding bugs, which will then need to be dealt with.

I have a feeling that when humans abolish child abuse in all forms, we will experience world peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64236.48
ETH 2519.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66