You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The difficult but not impossible mission of children psychologists

in #psychology6 years ago

Thank you @julisavio for this excellent post. I know as a child I would have benefited by having a child psychologist to help me understand my situation.

At 2-weeks old, my mother started having schizophrenic episodes. She would be in hospital for weeks and I remember many times medics coming into the house as a little boy, taking my mother away. No one around me would talk to me and help me understand.

Luckily, I have always been a very self-reflective person and knew instinctively this wasn't normal and that it wasn't her fault... But it wasn't until 12 years ago that I realized I was blaming myself for her condition and didn't even know it, since she was healthy and ok until I was born.

Once I realized this, something changed and I felt free.

Now I help others through coaching. It is wonderful to be able to do this every day.

Sort:  

I wonder what must have been hard for you to go through this situation, especially for being in an age so vulnerable when we're not with our rational thinking. I thought that the fact that the adults don't explain the situation, may have created this belief that you were guilty by the matter of your mother and the momentary separation of you when she went to the hospital.

I'm glad that you became this professional focused on helping others to deal with their issues.

Thank you very much for reading and comment.
Good afternoon!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49