You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Controlling dreams – how I managed to overcome my repeating nightmares

in #psychology6 years ago

Very nice, and well done. Lucidity is a great way to take control, not only in your dreams but in directing your waking state too. I would like to share some great techniques for achieving lucidity, that have worked for me, and it's all about habit forming.
During your daily activities, you just need to create a few new habits.
Carry a card on you through the day that reads "Am I Dreaming?" if your environment allows for it, say it out aloud, if not, then under your breath. Repeat it as often as you can through out the day, maybe put up a sign in the toilet or other prominent, often seen location, "Am I Dreaming?"
Also, regularly during the day, get into the habit of looking at things twice, especially if it has text, like the label on your favourite drink.
When these actions become habit, you will also be a slave to those habits in your dreams, where you will keep asking yourself, "Am I Dreaming?", where you will keep looking at things/text twice (text is very fluid in dreams and will not read the same twice). In any dream, if you ask yourself, Am I Dreaming? You will ALWAYS know that you are.
*Please note, this is my own personal opinion, based on personal experience, I am not asserting any will over anyone elses opinion or belief :)

Sort:  

Thank you for the meaningful comment.

Checking if you are dreaming by checking the consistence of texts is a very interesting approach.

Cheers! : )

Thank you :)
An attitude of gratitude is Lord Ganesha on steroids :)

Oh, I would also like to add that there are also "benefits" in asking "Am I Dreaming?" during your waking state too :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68