Can you forgive and forget the wrongdoings that has been done towards you?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Humans have many types of feelings such as happy, sad, angry, jealousy, hate and many more. When someone did something bad to you, physically or mentally, I'm pretty sure that you'll HATE that person, sometimes to the extent that you wanted to pay back for what they have done to you. You wanted to them to feel how hurtful it is to become the victim of their abuse. Hence, instinctively the person that you hate became your nemesis or your enemy, whatever you called it.


What happens if suddenly they approached you and ask for your forgiveness for all the wrongdoings that they have done to you? Are you willing to forgive them with all your heart? You might have heard this saying before, "I may have forgiven you, but I can never forget what you have done to me". It's mind baffling actually, how can you forgive when you can't forget? Is there any relevance to that? I don't think anyone can easily forget any types of experiences that have hurt them deeply, especially if it leaves scars on their body and in their heart.

There is a verse in the Bible that says,

But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you

Matthew 5:44 (New King James Version)

I don't think I have any enemies, but I do know a few people that I'm not comfortable with. I won't say that I hated them, calling them my enemies is not even close. They haven't done anything bad towards me, its just that sometimes they are a pain in the ass if you know what I mean. I would really love to have the chance to kick their butt, one of these days, just to let them know how irritating they really are. But when I read that verse, I got a slight chill in my heart. Do I have the will to forgive and forget how these people have hurt me? Am I strong enough to forgive them when they asked for forgiveness? Should I pray that they will have a change of heart to be nice to me and others? Or, should I curse them instead? I don't think I have the answer to that questions. I can only say that I will try to forgive.

What if the person has done a great deal of damage to yourself? Not only towards you but towards the people that you cared and love too? Think about the Syrians who have to endure their loss of family members, loved ones, and friends, murdered by the ISIS terrorist? Do you think they will be able to forgive lest forget about what the people has done to them? Any normal human will surely have revenge in their mind and in their heart unless of course they are born to become a Saint, only then that I believe that we are capable to forgive. You will never forget, as long as you live and have a sane mind.

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beverlyjoe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62382.95
ETH 2427.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58