3 reasons suicide is not the answer

in #psychology6 years ago

There is an epidemic that is occurring in our lives today and it is increasing at an alarming rate. The chaos and struggles of life are becoming too much for some people and they are ending their own lives. Majority of the time they do this because they think that there is no other way out, that no one will understand them, or that someone else’s life will be better without them. How do I know this? I read a lot of the news about this when it is reported. Plus, I have dealt with suicidal thoughts of my own for 15+ years. I want to share with you the 3 reasons suicide is never the answer for me.

suicide.jpg

1. You are Priceless!

All the gold, diamonds, silver, jewels, and money combined does not come even close to how much you are worth to your family and friends. Don’t believe me??? Just ask the family members and friends that you are close to, this simple question ‘Why am I important to you?’ The answers that they give you will prove those suicidal thoughts wrong. I know that it did for me. You possess greatness within you that is needed in the world and you are the only one that can make the greatness a reality.

2. You are not alone!

I know that at times I felt all alone during the darkest times in my life. I felt that I was invisible to the world and that there was no help for me. Well….that is all wrong. There are a lot of other people going through what you are at the same exact time. There are also people that have overcome this and want to help us do the same. You were never alone before the suicidal thoughts and you are definitely not alone now as you battle them. Still don’t believe me??? Then Google ‘Suicidal Thoughts’ or just start with ‘Suicide’ and the first choice in the auto finish is ‘Suicide hotline’. You will see that there are endless people out there that want to help you. I want to help you!!! Here is the link to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline and I urge to seek help on their website right now!

3. You are a hero!

Yes…you are a hero! I am not talking about the fictional ones we read in books or see in the movies. I am talking about people that actually look up to you. This is very hard to believe but it is a fact. A fact that was very hard for me to accept until my nephew was born. A hero is an ordinary person doing something extraordinary. How could I be a hero for my nephew if I gave up and gave in to the suicidal thoughts??? This would show him that when times got tough to just give up. I wanted to set a better example for him and that is why I am still here. It is the reason that I ignore the suicidal thoughts when life gets very difficult. There is someone in your life that needs a hero. The hero they need is you! Please be that hero for them.

You are a very important and invaluable person. Don’t let the lies of the suicidal thoughts rob you of an amazing life. I know that you can overcome these thoughts and proceed to the greatness that you are destined for. Remember, there are people out there that want to help you. Don’t be afraid to reach to them. They understand what you are dealing with. I have been in the same battle as you. Until my next post...Share. Inspire. Conquer.

This post was originally shared on my website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47