I just got scammed by a Fake Elon Musk

in #psychology6 years ago

After listening to the epic long Elon Musk podcast interview with Joe Rogan, I went and found Elon Musk on Twitter.

Under his "I am a business magnet" tweet, there was a Medium post supposedly from him giving away BTC and ETH.

The giveaway 10x your seed. Meaning you can send 0.5 ETH or 0.1 BTC minimum and Elon's "Musk Prize" will send you back 5 ETH or 1 BTC, respectively.

I thought this was real. So I quickly liquidated my STEEM and SBD to ETH.

I didn't have the 0.5 ETH minimum so I sent 0.4 ETH instead, hoping it worked.

I waited for 30 minutes. And nothing happened.

Then I checked the page again and found that the comments section never dated.

It was a good scam... And I fell for it.

I lost my 1 month Steemit money just like that. I was gonna HODL but I wanted to get rich quick. Oh well...

Reflections from being scammed


To be honest, I didn't know how to react. I was made to say the least.

I even wanted to delete the Joe Rogan x Elon Musk podcast mp3 from my phone! But I didn't, of course.

Here are my reflections:

  1. If it's too good to be true, it's probably is. Naval Ravikant had a good saying that went "There are no get rich quick schemes. Those schemes get rich quick off of you."

  2. Things happen for a reason. I decided to watch the podcast at night and it sparked an idea in me to check out his Twitter. And from there, the scam started. Call me metaphysical, but I choose to view this as an intentional universal act. My conclusion from this? That I had to get a taste of how real online scams can get (otherwise I could have potentially lose more later on when I have more money. Also it reminds me to stop looking for shortcuts. JUST DO THE GODDAMN WORK.)

  3. It isn't so much the money that got to me, it was the fact that I felt like a fool. The amount I lost was approx RM334. Yes that's a lot, but that's like RM11 a day. And I know how to make way more than that (in a funny way, it pissed me off to rev up my engines to make waaay more money later on).


    Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://bensimblog.com/i-just-got-scammed-by-a-fake-elon-musk/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83