You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Architecture of Abuse

in #psychology6 years ago

Thank you for these brilliant observations and linking of ideas, and for the fascinating art-history documentary on Nazi architecture which I have just finished watching (and chuckling away to).

It seems clear - to take just one strand of this - that abuse requires a lack of transparency in which to operate, whether behind closed doors or in broad daylight. Lack of transparency allows all sorts of manipulations to be enacted and fears to be triggered - games of Power and Control.

In a world of transparency - where everything is out in the open, it would not be as easy to deceive, nor would there be as much motivation to seek personal gain (psychological, financial, emotional etc) - there would likely be fewer such games played.

While this obviously looks a million miles away from where the world appears to be atm - ie full of victims and victimisers, I think the aspect of transparency is, and will continue to make a massive difference in lifting humanity out of this duality.

Take the trend of mass access to info, starting with the printing press, easier and cheaper access to material in the local vernacular, cutting out the middle-manipulator-interpreter, being able to read for oneself. What a massive shift, what a massive boost to empowerment and creativity for the collective human consciousness!

I think there is something of a similar, perhaps greater, magnitude taking place with the advent of the internet. It may be confusing for many who struggle under screeds of unfiltered data and do not feel able to discern Solid vs FUD, but I guess it wasn't until a while after the Gutenberg press started printing that enough people learned to read and creativity and new ideas began to spread in a big way, filtering up through the 'early adopters' and into mass acceptance and way of life.

Which leads me to the point of my point :) - the transparency of the blockchain as a living metaphor for the above stated analogy. I like and welcome the level of transparency on steemit. I should say that by 'transparency', I am not talking about every single itsy-bitsy detail being public, for there is always a private domain for the individual being (which does not violate any other being). I think of transparency as 'clarity' - I am clear about why I do things, and this is clear to others who observe or interact with me. If I am unclear about something, this is clear, and it can be cleared-up lol. I think Steemit works in this manner eg account figures and behavioural patters available to anyone.

Hmm, I'm out of thought now. On re-reading this, the point I'm making isn't really a very strong one, but I've written a fair bit and this is a month old post - an excellent one :D - so I'll just leave it here, as anything else is beginning to sound BS. Train of thought worked only to a point I guess. I am optimistic in this regard though!

Anyway, nice to meet you @matrjoschka 🔆
🚣

Sort:  

Hi @barge,
Thanks for your interesting thoughts :) Yes, I agree that transparency is important; hopefully our future will be designed around systems that have public accountability. I think the monetary system lays the foundation for so many other corruptions and I'm enjoying our rapid switch to crypto.

I'm with you on the Gutenberg press theory. I also feel that what we might be witnessing at the moment is people's disenchantment with authority and (hopefully) a migration towards an understanding of the world that relies on self-education and knowledge instead of accepting information based on the prescribed authority of a source: Government; the media; etc.

Now that we know that most mainstream sources of information are corrupt; we have the opportunity as individuals to personally investigate all knowledge that was imposed upon us rather that arrived at through personal experience.

Interesting times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69122.82
ETH 3737.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68