You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 40 | How do You React to Your Own Negative Thoughts?

in #psychology6 years ago

Hi Abi. After reading your article, I just remembered a quote from the Doctor Strange movie.

I'm a strong believer of this quote. I used to focus so much on removing all my negatives. I used to analyze a lot and spend lots of time to understand my negatives and try to eradicate them completely. But it never worked out at all. All I had to do was to just leave them alone and focus more on my positives and my positive thoughts. After I started doing that, my mind is more peaceful now.

I consider positives and negatives as two lamps glowing inside us. They are always glowing and it can never be cut down. The only thing that we can do is making them glow brighter by pouring oil. We have the freedom to choose which one can be brighter. If we pour oil on the positive lamp and let it glow brighter, our life will be peaceful instead of trying to completely diminish the negative lamp which will never happen.

I really liked your explanation about being a self-observer. I have tried it multiple times and it is amazing. In certain situations, I split myself into two where one part of my mind observes what is happening when another part of my mind is the actual subject. The observer knows what the subject is doing is wrong, but still, I have never been successful yet in making the observer interrupt the subject and make the situation smooth. But I can see that I'm definitely progressing. Hopefully, soon I will be able to make it happen.

Thanks for the wonderful article. 😁😁 Request you to write more frequently. At least one article per week maybe. 😉

Sort:  

@bala41288 my dear,

This is an extraordinary comment. Your analogy of our minds to glowing lamps is insightful and relatable. And, I must say, that for a young man like you, your approach to your inner battles is a most impressive one!

Now, I am only wondering if the 'observer mind' should actually interfere 'the subject mind' or just let it be, and do its thing in times of distress. I am going to go for the latter option :)

Like I said before Bala, I am impressed! So, thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us. I truly appreciate it. Thank you, also, for the quote from Dr. Stranger. It is a pretty good one indeed!

Ahahahaha, yours is a kind, motivating request! I will keep it in mind. 😊

Have a great week ahead and take care :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82