Stepping back: Stop what you are doing, right now

in #psychology7 years ago

Stepping back


ben-white-302160.jpg

Hello everyone! Aurélien here!

There is something that disturb me, that really make me think : we can go through life, through a ton of experiences without ever asking ourselves the right questions. Without ever reflect on ourselves and ask why we do what we do at a fundamental level.

Maybe it's time to change that, to forget everything you know and begin again with a new basis.

There are some subjects that I think are fundamental to know.
This post is the first of a long series on personal development. It will talk about all those things in life that you do not think about everyday, but that you should pay more attention to.

Many underestimate the importance of taking time to self-reflect, thinking it's just a waste of time.


But don't be afraid of doing nothing.



You can take one step back and observe your thoughts and emotions. It's important to stay clear-minded, to be able to see yourself as a third person, so that you can make more rational choices.

To do that, meditation is the way to go !


Everyday, before getting up, I listen to my breath and look at my thoughts. Since I do that, I never got up on the wrong foot again!
I can also meditate for about thirty minutes after my daily workout.

To create a habit, it is always better to add it to another! So do it after you brush your teeth, on the train or before you go to bed. After a few days, you will do it naturally.

The first guided meditations from Headspace are really good for beginners. You can also look at this TED talk for a good introduction. It debunk a lot of misconceptions we have about meditation.

Again, take the time you can to do it, the first positive effects can emerge from only 10 minutes a day. It's worth it !

I personally think that meditation is as important as good nutrition and daily exercise.
If I convinced a person to download Headspace on his phone, and meditate at least once in the day, my mission is complete!
Do not hesitate to tell me about your experience in the comments!


What you'll get by following me


you'll learn more about:

  • personal development (next time, we'll talk about nutrition and sport)
  • my journey as a game developer
  • french culture (you'll know how to pronounce my name I swear ;p)
  • the games I play and love, and my analysis
  • and many more!

You can already check my post on how I became a game developer in one month from scratch here.

And give me your advices and feedback in the comments :p
It will improve my future posts!

See you next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations @aurelien! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06