About Giving and Getting back.

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

T8.jpg
Source

Looking out the window at the gloomy weather, I reflected about yesterday's incident.

I was looking forward to go home yesterday from an appointment when my hubby told me about a small cat the guard at his workplace told him. Thinking that it is just a small cat that may be able to take care of itself, he sounded worried and even asked if he should make a U turn so I can go have a look at it.

In my mind, I was like “Oh no, not again...”. I already have 6 rescued kitties at home - living their lives comfortably, I had just rehome one rescued kitty and now this.

As we reached the car park lot, it was pitch dark and I recalled that we have no flashlight, great! So this clever hubby of mine uses his mobile phone flash light function and began to scan around for the cat. As we stood there looking around for a good 5 minutes, I heard a kitten cry and we started to trail down the voice from wherever it came from.

Then my hubby called out to me and said it is hiding under somebody’s car inside the TNB restricted area. I squatted beside the road and peered under the car and true enough it is right under the car, it is not a small cat, it’s a KITTEN!

Trying to lure it to us is of no use, we have to get inside the property. As if the kitten is lucky enough that it is meant to be saved, I saw an elderly security man and asked if we could get in. He was kind enough to allow us to come in and I could see he too did his part feeding strays around the area. He is not a well to do man obviously, but he did his part because he too understand what it feels to be hungry and thirsty.

The rescue mission started with the elderly man and my hubby forming a circle trying to catch the kitten, while I try to nudge it from underneath the car by gently poking it with a broom. I was worried it will get spooked and bolt out to the busy street full of high speeding cars! Praying so hard it won't.

Finally it moves slowly and hubby managed to catch it and hand it over to me. Then I realised how tiny it is and worst, it is unwell with red eyes covered with discharge and patches of dirt on its fur. I didn’t even have a pet carrier nor a towel in the car. So I hold him close to my chest and wrap it with my tshirt by rolling it up a bit. It tried to run away but I managed to hold him down, the journey back home seems like the longest!

Chiro1.jpg
His first night, at a pet's carrier before we set up the cage

Upon reaching home, I examined him and I realised he has a flu, under nourished and shivering. I slowly clean his face, eyes, nose, paws and ears with wet wipes. I had leftover pet’s milk powder and added some warm water to it. I fed it with milk and I can see he is trying to adjust to the new environment. He was so traumatized. I had to sit near him to assure him that he is safe.

I did not sleep the whole night till wee hour because he was crying on & off, and I am trying to keep check on his temperature and his breathing. I gave him tiny drop of baby Otrivin nasal decongestant to loosen the mucus, it works. He slept well.

This morning, gave him wet food mix with warm water to moisten it, then wet wipes his face again, gave him some warm water to drink (via syringe) and this round he settled a little. He began to play a little, attempt to eat by himself, and even clean himself at a corner.

Chiro.jpg
Chiro eating by himself

My heart sank as I observed how tiny he is. How could he possibly survive out there in the last couple of days with no proper shelter, exposed to speeding traffic and no food? I was humbled by his strength. I named him HERO, but later on we renamed him CHIRO because he responded to it better.

IMG_20180316_154458.jpg
Asleep now after eating.

As I looked out of the window and saw how dark the sky is as the rain starting to pour, I realised how lucky Chiro is. If we didn't save him last night, how many days does he have before he breathe his last?

Is it me that finally realise how strength cannot be defined by the size of a body? Or that he finally realise that there is still hope in the world for him – just when his spirit is crushed and all he could do is wait for death to come get him?

I couldn’t help it but trying to process everything - of God’s message and signs.

And then I received a text from bro @Sireh that he is on the way to Pearl Shopping Gallery to collect the donated items we prepared for him. I have prepped him days before about the items and number of trips he might need to arrange to collect and distribute them.

I am blessed that in this lifetime I am able to give what I can to others. Even if it means that I may have less.

I am only one person that is trying to make a difference, and I hope there are people out there too doing their bit in their own ways. If we all continue to do our part without expecting anything back, there is definitely hope for a better world someday.

P3.gif

angiechin28

Something About Angiechin28

Angie Chin is a Mom with a mission and founder of WonderWomen.Asia (coming soon), the first online portal in Malaysia that connects Women to affordable online learning, community activities, shareable contents, events, jobs and go-to market opportunities. At home, she’s a mommy to a 10 year old daughter, 6 furbabies + a grown babe. She loves travelling, cooking, exploring new food, reading and watching re-runs on Youtube.

Regularly posting up her ramblings and sharing contents (current favorites are Facebook & Instagram), she fell head over heels with Steemit after realising it’s the only platform that allows ANYONE to earn cryptocurrency by creating and posting up contents, even by liking, voting or commenting other people’s contents!

Whatever you do on the platform, you will earn. Isn’t that awesome?

To start earning, sign up for Steemit already! Post up your original contents and you can almost start seeing the ka-ching in your account before you know it. Best of all, it is FREE (Love the word FREE).

Life tagline (for now): Never be afraid to try anything once!

Drop her a note at [email protected]

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

@angiechin28 I am touched. thank you for sharing and being you. I love hearing how you took care of the kitten,. shows your heart. So touched, and my heart goes out to you and your care and love. Bless you dear.

Babe @jassicania, thanks! This is me taadaaaa! Have always been doing this like forever. But the problem with me is that I have a VERY weak heart, I can't bear to see the animals I cared for either died (couldn't make it) or have to be rehomed (because I get attach to them very quickly).

Lovely lovely story

Thank you @tinizainudin, likewise your diary stories too dear!!

Bless you! That's so sweet. And already another 6 others! Wow. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50