You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language, Euphemism, and Distorted Definitions

in #psychology6 years ago

Without knowledge, there can be no wisdom or understanding.
The history of the suppression of the trivium method and the foundations that used the Prussian system to create a model of outcome based learning is both fascinating and infuriating.
This is how Edward Berneys was able to turn the US into a consumer culture by apealing to emotion with sophist rhetoric. And it's still working like a charm.

Great post.

Sort:  

Hey, thanks Cap'n! Absolutely... the trivium is so simple, but so key, and reminding people about it is so critical at this time. You look at something like the FOX/CNN effect, whereby viewers uncritically accept everything they see on their preferred channel, and are completely closed to everything being spoken on the other. There's no thought process happening in either case.

They had FOX on in the gym tonight (why do businesses always have news on the TV... the last thing people need at a gym or a doctor's office is to be stressed out with propaganda bullshit) and though I couldn't hear it, the tagline under the talking heads was "Liberal Hypocrisy Exposed". I thought to myself, "That's the mission statement of this channel in a nutshell". All it's about is fueling the fires of division. Anyone would half a brain could see that if they actually engaged their critical process. But that process has been sitting up in the attic getting dusty and rusted for their whole lives in many cases.

This is largely what I'm trying to address with my posts here on Steemit, and I'm very pleased to see that many others here are doing the same. I hope with all the cross-pollination that this platform provides that we can reach some people who really need to hear this stuff. Thanks again, I'll be following your work!

P.S. I see you've beaten me to the punch with your "Standing Army" post! I'll have to read it through and see if I have any additional insight to offer that would justify my intended post, otherwise I'll have to scrap it. No hard feelings Hahahaha

So very true. The mainstream news is toxic. Nothing but confirmation bias and bad rhetoric.

Liberal is another piece of grammar that has been convoluted and misinterpreted throughout the years. It's amazing Plato was trying to tell people this thousands of years ago. Now, instead of a cave wall, we have a t.v. screen. Go figure huh.

And don't scrap it man I'm sure there are some aspects that I left out.
Thanks, look forward to reading more of your work.

Wow.. I never thought of TV as the cave wall. Holy cow, how did I miss that? It’s almost like a Nostradamus trip or something... like he saw it and put it in terms he could understand. It’s exactly the same thing, and more relevant now than when it was spoken, because we actually have people living this way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67227.10
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76