You Are Not Your Thoughts Part 1

thoughts part 1.png

That’s right. You are not your thoughts.

Your thoughts and mental images are something that you can observe. If they are something that you can observe then they are separate from you.

“No,” you might say. “My thoughts tell me what my name is. The mental images of me show me how I look like. My thoughts tell me what my job is, what my gender is and the kind of person I am. My thoughts tell me who my family and friends are. They tell me what my strengths and weaknesses are and how I treat people and what they think of me.”

“Besides,” you might think. “If I’m not my thoughts, then who am I?”

separator template 2 rounded ends.png

Not Being Your Thoughts Is Helpful

question-2392158_960_720.jpg

I discovered this concept in Jon Kabat-Zinn’s book Full Catastrophe Living. Jon is one of the pioneers of mixing western science and eastern philosophy to help alleviate physical and mental suffering. In the book, he describes different methods mostly borrowed from Buddhist practices and how they are used in therapeutic settings. In explaining the theories behind it he also introduced the idea of our thoughts not being us. This is a revelation for me. A freeing but scary revelation. Because who am I if I’m not the thoughts popping into my head?

Before we answer this question, let’s see the advantage of seeing our thoughts as not us especially when our thoughts are not helpful. We all have unhelpful thoughts that cause us trouble and keep us from being the people we want to be.

We sometimes have thoughts like:

“Why did I do that? I’m an idiot.”

“I won’t be able to finish this project on time.”

“They’re getting bored.”

“I get nervous when I speak in public so I can’t do this.”

Seeing these kinds of thoughts as separate from us is obviously helpful. It may be easier said than done to see these thoughts as separate from us but if you’re like me these thoughts tend to ‘hook’ me from time to time and keep me from doing what I want to do in life.

separator template 2 rounded ends.png

Who Are You Then?

meditation-597092_960_720.jpg

There is kind of psychotherapy called Acceptance and Commitment Therapy which explains a concept of Observer Perspective Taking. In relating to our thoughts, we could be a Participant, Observer-Participant, and Observer.

In the Participant mode, we identify with our thoughts and act as if they were true. So if someone has the thought, “I’m such a loser. Nothing turns out right for me,” and identifies with this and acts in a self-defeating manner we could say that person is a participant of his thought.

In the Observer-Participant mode, we are partly identifying with the thought and also partly able to observe it and its effect on us. Staying with the example, the person is aware that he’s having the thought and still acting unkindly to himself.

In the Observer mode, we notice that we are separate from the thought and aware of our choice to act on it or not. We are also aware of the consequences of acting on the thought and not acting on it. Still staying with the example, the person having the thought is merely observing the thought with dispassionate curiosity. He is aware that this is like all the thousands of thoughts that crossed his mind and that he doesn’t have to take it seriously.

separator template 2 rounded ends.png
In my future posts, I will describe some methods to get into observer mode if it’s helpful and also ways to ‘unhook’ from your thoughts. Stay tuned.

May you have a meaningful life.
separator template 2 rounded ends.png

Sort:  

Great introduction to this topic, especially for those who are new to this concept. When I first began learning about the concept that I am simply an observer and that we can choose our thoughts to create our lives, my life started rapidly becoming better and better.

Sadly, many of us have been conditioned to think limiting, demeaning, hurtful thoughts that hold us back from following our heart and our dreams. The media is filling our brains with limiting information, and most people cant help but be affected.

I wish for all people to learn to disconnect from these thoughts and see them as simply the ego-mind playing games. We do not need to believe these thoughts, not should we!

Looking forward to reading part 2!

Also looking forward to looking into that book, Full Catastrophe Living !

Thank you for your kind words and replying to my post! For days now I was observing the thought that no one would read this post and reply to it. It turns out the thought is not true. lol.

I also wish that people learn to disconnect from their unhelpful thoughts so they can move towards what matters in their life. We definitely don't need to believe any thoughts that pop into our heads. They're just thoughts and nothing else.

I noticed that you have read and upvoted part 2. Thank you!

Full Catastrophe Living is a great book. Definitely, do check it out. Jon Kabat-Zinn has another book called Wherever You Go, There You Are. I haven't read the book yet but a lot of people who practice mindfulness and meditation recommend it. You might want to check it out as well.

Have a good one!

Of course we are not our thoughts. Thoughts are a logical rationalization of our feelings. Is the way our body(the avatar we are using in this dimension) is interpreting the decisions we make. Thoughts are used in communicating what we feel, with ourselves or with others. Thoughts are tools we use to label this reality.


Sure enough I am not my thoughts, in the same way I am not my body :)!

Both of them belong to me though ;).

P.S. I am a soul playing a game called life, not just a simple observer :P.

@laurentiu.negrea, you're right. Thoughts are tools that we use in communicating what we feel with ourselves and others. I also agree that thoughts are tools. Because of our thoughts we're able to problem solve and perform tasks. Because of them we have the kind of technology we have today.

Unfortunately, sometimes our mind gives us thoughts/tools that aren't helpful. Sometimes our mind gives us a hammer when we need a screwdriver! It's great to be aware that we are not these thoughts because of that.

I think it's great that you see yourself as soul playing a game called life. I don't see myself as a simple observer either! I also work on being the person I want to be while I am alive. I work on doing what matters to me.

Thanks for your reply and have a good one.

Congratulations @ameaningfullife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46