How to bring more consciousness in your lifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology7 years ago

Actually, the first question would be. Why? What benefits will bring a life lived consciously?
We wouldn't ask this if we would be any other living being on this planet. All animal, by default, live their life with a high level of consciousness. We are the only ones able to live by our own rules in our own reality. And not only we are able to but we do it quite often to escape a reality we don't like. It's easier to run than to change it.

So let's see below some ideas we can use to increase our consciousness level, if you have other, bring them in:

1. Being present but connected to the context

My understanding on consciousness is quite related to the one about presence. And we all experimented the great feeling associated with being here and now and not running away using our minds to any other part of the planet.
Consciousness comes with an extra over presence. Is being present but in the same time remain aware of the surroundings. Why? To remain safe and to be able to adapt to something happening near that might affect you.
Being present but ignoring the context can do a lot of harm. For example, I sometimes read while walking on the street. Not once, I've lost my balance and hurt myself because I was so absorbed by the book that I was unable to remain connected with the environment.

2. Differentiate between fact, emotions and interpretations

Let's consider facts the objective part of the world. Emotions are mine only and they differ from person to person. They are my own and personal pair of glasses as they become my filters together with my past experiences.
Interpretation is how I see those objective facts through my glasses.
If I am able to make the difference between them I will be able to accept what comes without taking things personally.

3. Confront and accept the reality

If the previous point is met I can do 2 things when the reality differs from my interpretation.

  • confront it and get the feedback so I can learn from it
  • avoid confrontation so I won't trigger other unwanted emotions

An example here to make things clearer: When I'm upset/ disappointing/ sad/ furios and you name other "bad" state, I cry. This is my way of removing the tension. I don't yell, I don't hit, I don't curse, I just cry.
At first, when my boyfriend saw me crying the uncomfortable feeling he had was turned also against me. So I felt guilty and afraid to confront him about this, to understand his trigger and to explain him mine. My avoidance created additional frustration and you've guess, more crying.
The day I was able to explain him that my crying is about me not about him and I understood his bad mood was about him loosing control, not about me, was the day when we both started to understand better the different interpretation and to get a glance of the objective reality.

4. I know my objectives and I can report to them from my present state

How aware are you at this specific moment about where you want to go and who you want to become?
How aligned are your actions with this awareness?
Being able "to see" the future and the accomplished objectives gives us the possibility to start walking towards them consciously. This is the main pattern of a coaching session:

  • What you want to achieve?
  • Where are you now and what is the gap between now and final objective?
  • How can you achieve it?

With the hope I made you think a little bit more about the awareness in your life and the ways you can increase it I wish you a very conscious day!

Sort:  

Thank you and keep up with good work :)

this is a very practical approach. i like it
if you truly see yourself you've done a great deal of work
waitnig for the next post :)

Thanks! I think we are all looking for some things to apply, not only theoretical ones. I recommend the book 6 pillars of self esteem. There are many more practical ideas there.

Awareness is the most important! Being aware you can improve all 4 points highlighted by you, which are btw very good.

Self awareness is next:D

I agree. I feel that our awareness of our actions or inactions should inform our present physical state in order for us to make better decisions tomorrow. While it may not be easy for us to control our emotions, but being simply aware that our emotions are playing tricks on us help us slowly alter our own behaviors.

Recognizing our personal flaws is a good start to improving ourselves. :D

indeed it is. thank you for the comment:)

This post has received a 2.49 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @djvidov.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34