Sort:  

Maybe she is seeking help but not able to find help that fits the issue.
There is lots of help out there. But most of the help is there for the helpers.
The helpers want to feel important, and want to be so damn irritating helpful that they mentally rape the person to be the helper. Mainly 'professional help' I see acting like that. After all they are the ones who need to make profit for a company. It's their way to put food on the table. So they are there to fuckin' help. If you know what I mean.
If they are not able to provide the actual help that is needed then they should get lost. And make room for whatever else is out there. This may sound harsh. But helper who force to be helping destroy insane amounts of time money and brainpower.

And this is not an easy thing as the helper may feel helpless and feel sorry for THEMSELVES.
So that the point where to tell the helpers to help with the REAL problem or get lost.

And that's where it becomes complicated. I can't even describe what I have seen, how people get pushed into a corner with all kinds of medicine. And are no longer able to be themselves. Let alone, be able to make simple choices.

Also when people think that the medication is actually helping them and don't realise that they are living from pill to pill. No longer able to live a single minute without chemical help.
And for others this may actually be a real solution
So I have to be very careful here. I also know there are people who have great help from medicine, and that's great. But there should always be room to try to use less medicine, and in todays society that room seems not to exist. And the pharma manages to take away the little space that was left. They start with that DSM-IV book. They infiltrate the part where psychology is made, and create new pills for every negative feeling that a person may feel.

No matter how healthy you are, DSM-IV will be able to turn every feeling into some type of depression. And when they offer bonuses, and invite psychologists to visit symposiums and congresses and offer free hotel rooms in fancy hotels. Then the person who needs the help no longer gets any help. They just get a pill. Take this, go away, be happy. Come back when you are running out of stash...

Just like drugs dealers.

Hmm I should have made an article instead of this reply. :-)

This is awesome.
The way you put it! I can’t even put into words everything that I am thinking.
They tried to do this with me, too. The doctor didn’t even listen to everything I had to say. He just gave me pills and that was it. It was me who decided not to take them and search for other ways to feel better.
Now I do feel better. The issue with my friend is that she doesn’t want to go see a doctor and she doesn’t want any kind of other help, too. My concern is this - what if there is a point of no return? What if she hits the bottom and doesn’t find the way? What are we going to do then?

I forget to say how much I admire your free will to say no to chemical 'happiness' :-)
Nobody should order anyone to eat poison. And the mind always knows when the body doesn't feel right about something. Good that you could hear that.
Some doctors, are so brainwashed by the industry that they don't even realise that they are not listening.
Still, keep in mind that some people really need medical help. And they should always have access to that chemical help. Even though we may see it as a poison.

And hitting the bottom... that's very deep. things can always get worse. It's only the facts that keep one standing. Bullshit is what hurts the most I guess.
Find the facts, be honest. When something sucks it sucks, don't disguise a vacuumcleaner with colurfull positive bullshit. The damn thing just sucks even when it's hidden behind bullshit. :-)
Make her see that too if her sense of humor is up for it :-).

I hope al this is not too much ideas all at once. I have the feeling that your mind is on the same page. Though keep things small simple and light.
All of this at once is is probably way too much on an already overloaded brain.

Very good question, sounds like she went trough a lot.
As I don't know her, at this point I would say don't push her, and first of all be a friend. Don't do big things, just find easy accessable little joys.
Music, and try to figure out if there is a deeper meaning in the music she likes.
Food, always good for the mood to have good taste, but good and healty taste is always a bit of a challenge. More work, and often also above the butget.
A movie could be ok, but i would say too much distraction and it's not very social. But a cool movie can eventually set the mind on something different
Nature, have a walk. Hug a horse. Play with a kitten. always fun to see them hunt a hand under a blanket.
Just don't force a deep conversation, just be the friend you are. But if a converstion happens then try to find that real reason and options to get to a solution. Still try not to get to deep all at once. Keep it light friendly and in balance with nice things.
Still keep in mind that i do not know her at all so I could be very wrong.
And this means that your brainpower is far more important then anything that I write.
Going deep can be important, but a simple smile on a sad soul is worth a fortune. :-)

And balance... keep it all in balance, too much fun may have the downside of deep sadness on the rollercoaster of the brain.
Specially when someone is alone. So make sure that she is not alone when a rollercoaster ride is in session.

Again, I don't know her I hope your creativity has a far reach 'out of the box'.

My apologies for the length of this reply... My brain is just releasing all at once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56