You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dynamics of Power - Part 1 - The Legitimacy of Authority

in #psychology6 years ago

Haha, ok I read the entire article but I'll now stick to your 'joke quote' at the beginning.

Because it is so true! I am an advocate of Being over Doing. There is this famous quote by Rene Descartes 'I think therefore I am'. But from my experience the complete opposite is the case. Thinking is Doing. So he basically says 'in order to be we have to do', or 'in order to be we have to think'.
It is all about presence. Presence IS ;)

Sort:  

I'm not sure if I got your point of view so I'm going to give a wider range response.
Well, you make me go back to the psychology most scientific vision of Piaget.
Action always precede thought since we are born.
It's based on the action with objects that children using the sensory-motor system builds intelligence but in the building of the cognitive apparel.
We must take care because we are what we do, in the existentialist view, man is always doing on what he/she is done of.
To Be is based in self-analysis of the personality, but acting or doing has an as also cognitive involvement.
So to me, Thought is to think about reality and Knowledge is the way to change Reality in action.
Thinking about feeding children do not change the world unless we act in reality.
If we change inside we have to act with people to propagate our change in the world.
So Being and Acting is the carrousel of life to change the world around us.

Great explanation!
What I am essentially addressing is that when we stop thinking we won't stop being, but we'll stop being and identifying with our thoughts. "Thought-made Self".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47