Meta-heaven, meta-hell and why you should adopt a routine.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Ok guys, stand up. Now sit down because I’m about to tell you a story.

So this morning I took a shower and after I took it, boy did I feel different. It felt like going from one place to another. Then I go sit in front of the computer like I usually do, because God knows I have nothing better to do, and it occurs to me. It was one of those epiphany moments. Maybe I should clean my room. Now stay with me guys, if I took a shower and it felt like moving from one place to another, why shouldn’t I do the same with my room?

All this because I’ve been watching too much Jordan B Peterson on Youtube and have been influenced by him, it drove me to think of “the shower” and “cleaning your room” in a different manner. It drove me to think of rituals in a different manner because at the end of the day, all these things we do as part of a routine are very similar in structure to rituals. What comes to your mind when you think of a ritual? In my view I’ve always thought about them in a religious sense, and up to recently I considered them incoherent behavior. But, what really constitutes a ritual?

I looked up some definitions and the religious definition is surely there but a more pragmatic and universal definition I found on Merrian Webster is “an act or series of acts regularly repeated in a set precise manner”. So basically, it’s a routine. Dr. Peterson often talks about routines and how you need a routine in your life. This got me to reflect upon mine as you would in these instances where your mind is being blown, and my life right now doesn’t really have too many routines. It would do many of us a net good to start incorporating them.


Paradise by Jan Bruegel

However, there is more to this ritual thing than just a routine. There is a “mental place” you’re aiming for. So I found useful to redefine a ritual as “an act or series of acts regularly repeated in a set precise manner attempting to arrive at a desired mental place”. Dr. Peterson likes to think of Heaven and Hell as metaplaces or “mental places” if you’re being more pragmatic about it. You can almost sense it, when a person is there but is not completely present or the opposite, when a person is fully engaged.

Most people I would say are in between most of the time but we would love to be in “heaven” as much as possible in the same way we would love to NOT be in “hell” as much as possible. That is what the routine is about, trying to mimic that day where you felt useful and part of something greater than yourself.

Maybe I will continue these discussions if you like them to begin with. I find the topic very compelling. So give me an up vote or a comment or something to indicate that you liked what I did here and continue down the rabbit hole. I’m thinking of writing about responsibilities next. Let me know what other topics you like. Give me a follow for more and until next time.

Sort:  

I like the thought of heaven and hell being mental places or states that a person can be in. Well written and quite philosophical, I would like to read more! :) How would you explain the feeling, when you say you feel different?

Thank you :). About your question, if you feel different maybe there is some sort of incompatibility between your personality and those around you. Look up the big five on the internet, it will help you understand yourself and others. Not all combinations of traits are fully compatible with others. Dr. Peterson has said about that sort of thing that, sometimes you just have to be flexible and be willing to act like others even if that means that you can't be yourself all of the time. I will leave it at that so you can indulge reading other material that you may find linked to the big five.

I study psychology so I'm familiar with the big five :) But thank you for the tip, I'll read some more about it!

i liked the linking of rutines and rituals.
we are what we do and experience. it's magical
do write even if only for yourself. it will do good for you and i'll enjoy reading

Already working on a new post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32