Sort:  

@imag1ne I wanted to include you guys in this comment as well.

Everyone is a gambler. We gamble on everything every day. You walk through the park and see two women. Do you approach them? If you fail you may feel awful, if you succeed you know the reward. Which do you approach? If you approach one you cannot approach the other, you must choose which one and either is a gamble.

I wrote a longer blog on this subject here: https://steemit.com/life/@daut44/life-is-full-of-gambling

Sigh... right. But gambling as an industry is what I was focusing on. I am well aware of the gamble of life, but its an entirely different game. Life isn't designed for you to fail, gambling as an industry is.

Sorry for not giving a proper reply, was actually busy gambling and typed out nonsense quickly :)

I'm a professional gambler and I hate gambling. I just spent 3 days in Vegas for a bachelor party and played 0 table games. As you say they are designed for people to fail. However, I'm not against them. I believe people are free to make their own choices (when they don't infringe upon the rights of others), and for those who play responsibly, they can derive fun from it and if they value the fun they have with their friends at a blackjack table more than the money they might lose, I don't see any problem with it.

But I also view what I do as very different than the traditional view of gambling. Games can be broken down into 3 pieces: games of pure skill, games of pure luck, and games that are a combination of skill and luck, and the latter 2 when combined with money are always grouped together as "gambling". Despite the house taking a cut out of every hand played, money can be made in the 3rd set of games that have luck but are predominantly skill based, and the house isn't trying to make people fail in them, it's just running a game in a safe place, trying to make money, and provide a place of entertainment for the people playing.

None of this disagrees what you say, but when it comes to subjects like this, I think clarification is always necessary because grouping seemingly similar things together with words that can be extended much further is careless.

nobody gets out alive

Yet energy cannot be created, nor destroyed. There is an essence of you that exists beyond physical deterioration of the body, what that is though I couldn't begin to explain. So do you ever really die? In the same token, are you ever really born?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28