How to deal with the multigenerational workplace

in #psychology7 years ago

Today I was reflecting about this idea, of multigenerational workplace. I might be wrong, but I think we live quite unique times, where three different generations meet under the same roof, under different roles, to create and run businesses and organisations.

I'm a millennial, some of the people I report to are Gen X, while many of my reports are Gen Z. I can tell you by now my working days are full of diversity in terms of people - related situations.
Yes, I agree we shouldn't quickly label people based on their generation or worse, based on their age.
Nevertheless, as a passionate observer of the human nature, I can confirm there are patterns.
There are real challenges in a multigenerational environment - clashes of mentalities, of values, of life-style. Knowing that an organisation's performance is tightly related to the human factor, this makes today's working environment a lot more intense.
Looking at this picture, I asked myself - what helps me navigate through this? My role presumes to create and preserve very good relationships with all levels. That is not easy when, very often, you have to deal with opposite points of view over the same matter, both points coming from a solid place.

I've analysed my strategy and summarised it in few key ideas:

  1. Keep an open mind - accept that there are more possibilities/solutions/ points of view to one given context and be ready to discover and take all of them in consideration.
  2. Step away from "right or wrong" - it is human nature to look at things in these terms; the truth is focusing your reasoning process on achieving consensus, solutions, optimisation proves to be more successful - it helps to move people from opposition to collaboration.
  3. Learn to ask good questions - we assume all the time, it's how our brain saves effort; be aware of your biases and use questions to overcome the reflex of assuming.
  4. Do your best to understand every party's position in the equation - when you understand what is at stake for everyone involved it will be easier to negotiate your way through.
  5. Keep your eyes on the prize - if your goal is to move things further, leave your ego aside and don't let yourself drift by details or human intricacies; help people overcome their own blockages.
  6. Revise and learn - always look back at a situation, ask yourself what you would do differently next time and learn.

In the end, it's all about your willingness to adapt.
A wise teacher once told me: "Remember, the most flexible part is always the one most in lead - just look at the door hinges - it's the most flexible part of the door, yet, the door wouldn't be a door without it!".

Thanks for reading. Hope you find this useful, please share your thoughts in the comments.

All the best! :)

Workplace-stress.png

Sort:  

Step away from "right or wrong" - Nice one :)

Thanks :D

It's about time someone addressed this topic and I don't think it could have been done better.
I agree with not judging based on age. I have always been seen as a child, no matter my age. I worked with one lady that wouldn't allow me to do anything because I was "just a child." It was hard to get her to see past that.
I enjoyed "Keep your eyes on the prize." I think that's a rule everyone should live by.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, randomphandom. I hope our society will evolve and give up this superficial way of judging human value.

Take care

Thank you :)

Your brilliant my Friend! I'm so very proud that you are following me! Thanks again! All the best! Positive Energy! Two thumbs up! Out of this world post! Blessed 2018! :)

Thank you ^^ Have a great 2018 :)

Nothing else to say, nothing else to add... Clearly something to learn from #experience ^_^

Yes, very well said, experience makes it all ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70