GIVING

in #psychology6 years ago

Many times I wonder about the reason for our existence... what are we here for? ...what are we meant to do? to be? and we all struggle with various questions in this regard throughout our life.

From a young age I had as a guiding light the following phrase: "the more we give ... the more we have ..." In addition, I often felt good when I was able to help others - to ease their pain, give a shoulder to cry on, listen to people's secrets, hopes, thoughts, dreams, etc. It seems that when we are able to serve others truly is when we are living to our full potential.

I also find that the connection we make with others is crucial. The connection of just being there, caring and not judging. Being there to help - to give - to make another person's battles in life just a little bit easier & giving them the reassurance that they are not alone. After all, isn't that what we all are seeking?

and yet, I wonder why we do not do this - to the extent that we could...
what is preventing us - if not our ego, our immaturity, our thinking?
perhaps loneliness is one of the worst ailments of our days ...

anyway, I think we need to go back to the basics of life - to think about the art of living & the art of loving.

In his book, The Art of Loving, Erich Fromm writes:
“Giving is the highest expression of potency. In the very act of giving, I experience my strength, my wealth, my power.
This experience of heightened vitality and potency fills me with joy. I experience myself as overflowing, spending, alive, hence as joyous. Giving is more joyous than receiving, not because it is a deprivation, but because in the act of giving lies the expression of my aliveness.”

I think that this is so true. In a way, this is what we are doing in steemit to a certain degree - aren't we? I am new here - but really, this is what I aspire to do - both within this site but also in my life in general.

Another quote I leave you with is that of Alfred Adler. It is worthy to note that he prescribed this remedy for depression to a patient:
"You can be healed if every day you begin the first thing in the morning to consider how you can bring a real joy to someone else. If you can stick to this for two weeks, you will no longer need therapy."

I think this prescription should be one we all have for a lifetime.

Wishing everyone a great evening.

photo-1513477967668-2aaf11838bd6.jpg

Photo by Nathan Lemon on Unsplash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68571.56
ETH 3910.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66