You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Parents Should Nurture Freethinking and Disobedient Children

in #psychology8 years ago

I completely agree that freedom is necessary for a child to find their own way in this world. I can totally relate to this and being having raised this way, I was able to make my own decisions assertively when the time came. It was because of this free-thinking attitude that my dad promoted, that I was able to get out of the rat race and build something of my own.

Having said that, I also feel that parents should be there for their children to analyze how there actions turned out--kind of mentorship if you will. Not to enforce anything, but to share their experiences. I firmly believe that we can learn a lot from sharing with our parents.

Good to see so many people promoting this kind of attitude in their children. Thanks for the post man!

Sort:  

Well said, @adisharma29.

I also believe that shared experiences and feelings are important. And I don't doubt that we can learn a lot from our parents. We just have to be wary of boundaries, and make certain we are not sharing damaging experiences or otherwise violating our children.

And likewise, I am glad that people like you on Steemit share my sentiment. Thanks for the beautiful comment.

I agree, damaging experiences are detrimental to any child who has not experienced them.

I agree here as well. Parents should make the most out of every opportunity to allow their child to develop and progress on their own without authoritarian discipline. Experience is the best teacher, and I can honestly say that is how I learned from my mistakes. I think the key as parents is to be involved in all aspects of our children's lives, encourage them to think for themselves, and be independent members of our society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44