Change your thoughts to change your life

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I am writing this post in response to a comment by @krnel in one of his posts.

In his post he highlighted how important is to "clean up our thoughts" because the world we perceive is a reflection of our inner world. That is so true and since I love stories here there is one that depicts this concept:

Image CCO Creative Commons 

The two dogs 

A woman watches one dog entering a room, after a few minutes she hears the dog barking and soon after, the dog comes out of the room happy and wagging his tail in a playful mood. After some time, she sees a second dog entering the same room, this time the woman hears the dog growling only to see him coming out of the room really upset. Moved by her curiosity the woman decides to enter the room to understand how was it possible that the same room had the opposite effect on the dogs. When she enters, she finds a room filled with mirrors and she realized that what the dogs saw was just a reflection of themselves. The happy dog saw hundreds of happy dogs staring back at him, while the grumpy dog saw hundreds of grumpy dogs growling at him. The world as you see it, it's just a reflection of who you are.

I like this story because it's very simple and it highlights 2 interesting concepts. Months ago I wrote a detailed post about this topic, I would suggest having a look if you are interested, here I will just cover the concepts very quickly:

  • We tend to mirror the behavior of people around us. This means that people around us will mirror our behavior. If you frown at people they will frown at you and if you smile at them..well smiles you will get.
  • Our subconscious is literally bombarded by sensorial information every instant. Here comes into play a special ability we all possess, the capacity to forget! If our brain was to try and process all the information it receives it would be overwhelmed and we would not be able to think clearly. For this reason our mind acts as filter, categorizing all the data we collect and letting through only the info that are somewhat related to our thoughts. For this reason if you have only negative thoughts you will tend perceive more all the negatives in our life. 

I've oversimplified but this was meant to be a brief post, just for fun check out this video that proves some of what I said:  http://www.theinvisiblegorilla.com/gorilla_experiment.html 

In short, if you want to change your life you must change your mind first

Further sources:

Communities that support me:

Immagine CC0 Creative Commons, si ringrazia @mrazura per il logo **ITASTEM**. **CLICK HERE AND VOTE FOR DAVINCI.WITNESS** 


To join @steemstem you can go to this discord server. 


Powered by @bhuz

Sort:  

Our subconscious is literally bombarded by sensorial information every instant. Here comes into play a special ability we all possess, the capacity to forget!

One of the principles of Law of Attraction. Thinking plays a pivotal role in our lives. The gloomy thoughts leads to pessimism. Being optimist and dealing with joy can make you through this difficult phase with ease, at least. Lovely and phenomenal story.

so true.. your attitude can get you a long way in tough times.

Indeed! thank you. When the going gets tough, the tough gets going.

Never underestimate the power of a smile! :)

that's a great story - I liked the happy dog! :) I've often heard it said that the world is how we view it - but often times there are characters in our life that are what they are regardless of your outlook on life. I mean I am a very positive person and try to find the best in everybody and I usually do- but sometimes I come across a real jerk - and it's pretty clear that he/she's a jerk regardless of my outlook on life - and I don't think I'm just seeing a reflection of myself - so I've alway struggled a little with that philosophy. I get that if you have a negative attitude that you see things in the negative - so broadly speaking it's correct - so maybe I'm just splitting hairs...

When you find someone that behaves like a jerk the best thing is to let go, forgiveness is not about about the past but it enlarges the future, you let go of things for your own good ;)

yeah - I don't usually let jerks get to me cause my attitude is too positive to dwell on other people attitude problems - carrying around anger and resentment is bad for your mental health.

Very true @aboutcoolscience
The world looks how we see it....its just our thought and perception. And what we think have the major impact on it.

That’s true. You do not see the world as it is. You see it as you are.
@fsfblender

Your post has been voted randomly by @autovoters :)

I really like posts like this, let me follow you, thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61