Psychology Addict # 36 | Shaun the Sheep & Marriage

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

shaun-bannersnack.png

Shaun the Sheep is an animated movie by Nick Park. It tells the story of Shaun’s and the farmer’s daily life. A life that they also share with other animals in a beautiful farm. At the beginning everything was pure laughter and joy; but as time went on their routine became dull and overwhelming. On one side, the farmer went into an autopilot mode, where he strictly followed the same rituals every single day. On the other, Shaun reached his limit and felt a need to ‘fix things’.

If you have been on a stable relationship for quite a while it is very likely you will find this chain of events rather familiar. As someone who has been married for over 13 years, I have observed this in my own relationship as well as in those of family and friends. From here, based on what I have been able to observe, things can unfold in two different ways: number 1, the couple address their issues. Number 2, they keep going by inertia.

Don’t be too quick to judge which option is the best one. In my own family I have seen a couple break up exactly because they decided to address their issues. I have also seen others just letting things be and live together forever-ever-after. Regarding this last scenario, whether they lived in contentment or not; this is only for them to judge. Although, I feel compelled to add here that research conducted among couples that manage to make their marriage work, unveiled that avoiding conflict is not one of their ‘techniques’1.

Then, Let’s Talk About Option 1 - Addressing Issues

me.png

Shaun had been feeling disconnected from the farmer, who at the beginning was more sharing and engaging. The farmer had become too submerged in his own thoughts and duties. Times of joy and fun now were something that existed only in Shaun’s wishes. But Shaun wanted all that back in real life. He had to do something about it! Unfortunately, though, it was exactly when Shaun decided to tackle what he perceived as a problem in their routine that things became laborious.

Productive communication is a hard task, one that becomes pretty much impossible in emotionally-charged situations. And the fact that men and women experience sadness and fear differently doesn’t make matters easy [2]. This is perhaps one of the reasons why when couples need to have a talk and things become heated, the woman releases her frustrations through tears and the man through anger. I put money down that you have had one or two of these conversations in the past (I did); you will probably remember that some of the things that were said are not exactly flattering. But there is yet another tricky task: accepting criticism.

Pause for Reflection - Take a minute to think about the way you dealt with the last criticism you received from your spouse. How did you react?

1 – Abi, I got all defensive. 😲
2 – Abi, I adopted a more humble reaction. 😃

Neither Fight, Nor Flight

Last time my husband criticised me I was already highly-strung. I, then, promptly replied ‘give me an example’ He gave me two. He was prepared for the conversation. I wasn’t. He was Shaun, I was the Farmer! He had adopted a harsh-start (that is not a good move). You will agree with me that is much nicer to hear ‘I love when you take a break and we can spend time together’; than ‘You never take time off’. The former indicates warmth, the latter feels like an attack.

Still, my husband is a smart man, he wisely stopped there and gave me a little break to take things in. This is truly important and it contributes greatly towards a peaceful end to the conversation. After all, a discussion doesn’t need to end on bad terms. Actually, it shouldn’t.

Through his 40 year research on couples’ relationships in the love lab - Psychologist Dr. J.M. Gottman found that it comes to a point where a heated dialogue ought to stop, he concluded that when heart rate reaches 100bpm no one is listening to what the other is saying anymore 2. When the flight or fight response kicks in things become counterproductive.

And here is a piece of information that the ladies out there might find useful: Men need a longer break to calm themselves down. Also, their stress system is more reactive then ours [3]. This is a manufacturing fault. So, please ladies feel free to forward your complaint to Mrs. Evolution. 😛

The Individual – The Heart of the Matter

In his work Dr. Gottman argues that personality issues do not play a significant role in making things difficult in a relationship [4]. I have my reservations about this finding. For example, there are so many times spouse A can say to spouse B ‘Baby, can you please mow the lawn?’ until it becomes ‘For the love of Christ! Will you EVER mow the damn lawn?’. If spouse ‘B’ rates quite low in the conscientiousness dimension of personality things are likely to spiral downward from here. And, in my opinion, unlike Dr. Gottman puts it, this is not about how things were addressed to begin with. Even the most patient of people will begin to resent things at some stage. Everyone has a limit!

So, keep you level of conscientiousness in check.

Resolving One’s Personal Issues First

Before being a couple, each and every one of us is an individual bearing specific emotional struggles that have nothing to do with our actual relationship. Troubling past events, upsetting memories, the way we relate to others and to the environment are some examples. This is where an important fine line needs to be drawn: the line that establishes the difference between bringing external problems to your marriage & turning to your spouse for advice/help. The former is a big no, no for all the obvious reasons. As for the latter, research shows that this is something that helps couples to assemble connection, which in turn ignites romance and, therefore, promotes intimacy 5.

But, back to solving personal issues... Take Tracey and Ian, for example, Ian is a highly agreeable man. Tracey is efficient and tough. She is good for Ian. Because of her, Ian finally got going and bought an apartment, finished a specialization and lost weight. Sadly, after 4 years together Tracey came to me complaining about Ian ‘I wish him to be different. I wish he weren’t so complacent.’ I couldn’t help but challenge her mindset ‘it was exactly because he is “easy-going” that you told me you fell for him. When and why that became a problem?’

Looking inwards, from time to time, is an essential requirement for a long-term harmonious relationship. This allows you to keep in touch with your weaknesses and strengths. Praise yourself for all the things you have done that have positively contributed to your personal and marital growth. Then, turn to your spouse for help with improving your weaknesses. Tracey has a lot to praise herself for. But, is she too demanding? Are her expectations unreasonable? She could always approach Ian and discuss this with him.

But pleeease spouse, when your wife/husband turns to you; turn the TV off, put the phone away. Show kindness and respect in return of what you have been entrusted with (his/her subjective well-being). This will only make your other-half think of you and reach out for you over and over again. Do you remember what I said before? This paves the way to connection, romance and intimacy. After all, an estranged partner does not inspire demonstrations of affection.

That is What I Attempted to Do

Heart rate down, a quick reflection and a couple of deep breaths later I pronounced to my husband ‘You are correct. What can I do to make things better?’ My husband backed down and changed his tone. Now, a productive conversation could take place. He had a plan, which I was eager to listen. It didn’t take long for me to start teasing him and for him to make fun of my quirks.

In his laboratory, Dr. Gottman observed a very interesting thing. He noticed that what makes marriage work is not how often a couple argues. Rather, it is how they manage to turn around the issue that caused the conflict 6. Whether that takes a day or a week, it depends on each couple. However, the key here is to not let things drag on for too long; otherwise a pattern of negative thinking sets in (things get that much more complicated when this happens). Please note, that turning things around has a lot to do with they way the couple argues. Hence, avoiding cynicism, sarcasm, disrespectful remarks and tuning out is a smart move.

Further, it is extremely important for both wife and husband to know that there are certain issues that cannot be completely solved. These are mostly related with one spouse wishing to change the other. Like Tracey and Ian, from before. Self-awareness, respect and trust are fundamental in such situations. Both wife and husband not only need to learn to live harmoniously with each other’s differences; but also, make the most out of them. If you think he is too agreeable. Well, start to see him as the best partner you can have to work on shared goals. Change your outlook. Don’t allow your mind to turn towards bitterness. That is a rocky road.

I am sure, by now, you know this is done by means of addressing your own personal issues, right?

Self-Evaluation

I have come across people who have never questioned their own behaviour or mindset before. Some of them were as old as 70. Those individuals, I noticed, share a few things in common, with the most relevant of them being: family problems. Those people perpetually place the reason of their anguish upon others. They often reside in a world of bitterness, deception and arrogance. By the way, that is a world that we all visit from time to time in our lives. No one escapes it. But the secret is in not becoming a permanent resident there.

Just in case you are one of those people – who never questioned their own behaviour – and needs a little help with self-evaluation; here are a few questions you can ask yourself:

Do you have habits that are negative to your psychological and physical health? ✤ Are you at peace with yourself? ✤ Are you living in resentment? ✤ Do you treat people with respect? ✤ When was the last time you made a mistake? ✤ Do you work cooperatively with your spouse towards building a secure future for the family? ✤

Remember, you are not alone. You have a wife/husband to turn to.

It is as heart-breaking to read studies that reveal the harsh consequences of a tension-ridden marriage - namely, substance abuse, heart disease and depression 7 – as it is to learn that divorces happen more because people don’t want to discuss things than because of the actual arguments 8.

I believe this has a lot to do with the fact that one or both parts fail to work on themselves as individuals to begin with.

A Happy End at the Farm

my-husband.png

As for Shaun, things paid off for him in the end. He sure had his fair share of hardship whilst trying to make things right and just for everyone. Over and over again he seemed defeated by the circumstances, he fought his fears, he made an escape from what was suffocating him, he observed his family and reflected about what was happening. Shaun tirelessly resorted to his endless creativity and ingenuity. He took one step at a time, and was fuelled by genuine love and kindness; but, what helped him the most in keep going was the fact that he had a clear picture of what he wanted for himself and his family. That was his goal. One in which life encompassed, harmony, laughter, respect, gratitude and affection (well, at least most of the time).


Reference List:

2,3 - Barker, M. Vossler, A. Langdridge, D. (2010) ‘Sociocultural Issues’ in Barker, M. Vossler, A. Langdridge, D. (eds) Understandying Counselling and Psychotherapy, London, Sage Publications, pp. 211-232.

1,4,5,6,7,8 - Gottman, J. M., & Silver, N. (1999). The seven principles for making marriage work. New York: Three Rivers Press.

Shaun the Sheep

Image source: 1 + Background from Bannersnack , 2, 3, 4,5, 6, 7


SteemSTEM Logo.gif

Red Line.png

Dear Reader,

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. There are a lot of questions here for you today. I would love to hear which one made you reflect a little about things.

All the best to you always 😊

Sort:  

This is quite deep and fun to read as well. I don't think I have spent enough time in my own marriage to be able to advise anyone. Thirteen years is indeed something and by no means a great achievement in this present world.

However, one thing keeps me going with my marriage. I always see my spouse as imperfect and keep reminding myself why I married her in the first place each time things want to move south. Love is not really about all the positive attributes of your spouse, but those imperfections you have chosen to tolerate in him/her.

I think marriages fail because people believe more in falling in love than growing in love. Falling in love could be for a short term but growing in love has no time limit.

Thanks for sharing this Abii. Lots of love from here.

Hello @gentleshaid :)

It looks like you are inspired today! I truly like your approach of growing in love; and of course, the means you resort to make it possible 'remind yourself why you got married in first place'.

You are right. People often are unrealistic about the expectations they have from their partners and fail terribly in dealing with their flaws. But than again, when one cannot deal with one's very own imperfections, how can one deal what that of others?

Thank you for stopping by and adding this important insight to our discussion :)

Lots of love to you and your family!

YOu are welcome Abii.

hello dear abi the truth very interesting your subject and therefore any resemblance to reality is pure coincidence. most of the relationships go through this type of inconvenience that at the moment does not seem bad, but over time they begin to weigh in the relationship. that's why after years there are breaks or simple conformism.

hello hello ... oh my god I'm super delayed ... it's too much to say that this is another of the excellent topics on which you hit the spot, as it is common in couples who have been together for years. the main thing is communication, that both parties express what they feel in order to reach the decision: whether it is good or bad that will give the outcome to the relationship. living in monotony is something harmful in the relationship even if it does not seem so. I am the one who thinks that if something is good we should keep it and if it has flaws, try to improve it, but if there is no solution, simply let it go.
thousand blessings abigail friend ... chaooo :))

Hello @abigail-dantes, you've provided a good evaluation and examples of spousal and partnership relationships. I was most interested in those people that are afraid to go within. My view is that I believe people should be allowed to express their emotions in ways how they see it, sense it and feel it, without resorting to violence of course. It's the lack of being able to express repressed views and opinions which is why our A&E (Accident & Emergency) departments are at full capacity with heart attack patients!

To be able to look at ourselves and the part we play in the break-up or break-down of our relationships isn't difficult to do, not if you're truly interested in the welfare of your partner. I hold the 'Ego' responsible for alot of our problems, wanting to be right all the time doesn't get us anywhere. Great post! Peace.

My dearest @fiercewarrior 😊

My view is that I believe people should be allowed to express their emotions in ways how they see it, sense it and feel it, without resorting to violence of course.

This is a very valid observation, which I agree with in many, many ways. But, I do have something to add here :) I understand you already disregarded violent means of conveying feelings. Nevertheless, I have come across a lot of people, who through acting upon their raw emotions have caused incredible psychological damage to others. As much as I believe that those very hart-attack patients you mentioned may be victims of bottled up emotions, I believe a great portion of them are also individuals on the receiving end of those who express themselves as they see fit.

I believe all of us every once in a while (and some of us, throughout our entire lives) need some careful consideration before manifesting emotions as we feel them, as they can sometimes be rather primal! :)

Thank you for sharing your insight on this one my dear. Your view definitely intrigued me and caused some reflections! :*

All the best to you always.

..that's my very point, because we as human beings are primal, expressing ourselves despite how it may offend is necessary for physical and mental wellbeing. And of course I'm glad you've reminded us that psychological abuse is two fold and can also be the reason why some people end up with strokes and heart attacks. But we should never hold back on how we're feeling to spare another - what about your feelings!?!. I believe honesty is the best policy and the tonic required for good emotional and mental health in all our relationships. There will be occasions when we have to be diplomatic with information we provide and choose our words carefully, but the outcome is still the same, honesty. Before we can consider other people's feelings, we will first need to consider our actions that led to a re-action.

Sorry @abigail-dantes, I disagree with you on this one, but I absolutely take your point on board. Peace :*

😃 You are definitely making me think, and rethink this one! Thank you. I will need to sit down with a cup of tea, nothing else happening around me and this train of thoughts of yours.

Much love to you always my dear @fiercewarrior :)

Someone's view of you does not have to become our reality..much love to you too @abigail-dantes, until next time. :*

And here is a piece of information that the ladies out there might find useful: Men need a longer break to calm themselves down. Also, their stress system is more reactive then ours [3]. This is a manufacturing fault. So, please ladies feel free to forward your complaint to Mrs. Evolution. 😛

I often say to women who complain about men in general, that they have the kind of men they chose. I don't mean 'they' individually. I mean their ancestors. Females could have chosen to procreate only with men who had XYZ qualities. They didn't. They chose the ones we have.

It's basically a more intellectual way of saying 'everything's your own fault' :P

I think the area of psychology tackled in this post, what we may call 'interpersonal psychology', might be the most practically beneficial thing to get into schools and generally try to 'get out there'. Lots of people could be helped by these insights.

Another movie I like btw, Shaun the Sheep!

It's basically a more intellectual way of saying 'everything's your own fault' :P

All right, next time a woman comes to me complaining about the overall problems they face with men I am going to use this notion. But, I am going to start with "The philosopher Axander puts forward that ..." 😛

Alexander, thank you so much for the observation you made on your last paragraph. As of late I have been thinking of beginning to address psychology more through this vein here on my blog. This post was somehow a test to see how people would receive it. You might know by now how much I appreciate and respect your input. So, it comes as a great motivation for me as well as a good surprise (precisely because I of my latest thoughts).

Ps: I watched the Darkest Hours last night. 😳 Wow! Magnificent. Now, I am in love with Gary Oldman.

It looks like if I were a psychologist, only self-blaming masochists would be my clients 😅

I haven't watched it yet but I have it on my watchlist. I was just worried it might be a "slow" movie. I don't mind watching slow movies myself, but I worry about the other people I watch the movies with! But I'll watch it now that you reminded me of it.

A "slow" but brilliant movie I watched recently is Phantom Thread. It kinda reminds me of The Best Offer in some strange way, though they're very different. I recommend both of them. I think they'll be a psychological treat. Oh and Lady Macbeth (not the Shakespeare version). Oh and Downsizing is hilarious and very original if you haven't watched it, it kinda has to do with relationships as well, people being on different trajectories. Sorry I can go on a roll when talking about movies :D

I am going to watch Downsizing tonight! 😃 I wrote all the others down too :) Thank you very much.

I recently watched The Tribes of Palos Verdes It isn't exactly uplifting, but I really liked it.

When I have five minutes I will give you my top 5 favorite movies list. As for you, wait until I see the ones you recommended here first! 😅 Are you reading something that might interest me? :)

I'll be eagerly waiting for your reviews and recommendations!

The Tribes of Palos Verdes is also in my watchlist so I'll be getting around to that too!

As for books, time is tight, and it's not as easy to read and finish a book as it is to watch a movie. Plus I don't know your taste when it comes to books.

Right now I'm reading a perhaps odd choice: One Hundred Poets, One Poem Each

Here's a waka poem on the romantic side:

And here's an anti-romantic one perhaps to send Egotheist, he'll love it :D

20180705_160739-.jpg

Oh! I LOVED Dowsizing, it was nothing of what I expected! The way they depicted normal folk was incredibly touching.

Thank you very much for the poems, I saved the anti-romatic one to send Ego when the opportunity comes 😉

Here is my current Top 5 list (not necessarily in order)

1 - Carol
2 - A Hijacking
3 - Creep
4 - The Invisible Guest
5 - Second Mother

I am going to watch Lady MacBeth over the weekend! :D

Take care Alexander!

Yeah Downsizing is definitely not what you expect, cos it's impossible to expect what you see! It doesn't easily fall into a genre, and it's not predictable like most movies. I liked the message, the feelings, the humor. I don't know if you watch it in original English or with a voiceover, but I really loved the way the Asian protagonist talked! She was over-the-top but I think she was adorable! Don't know why it has such a low IMDb score.

I've already watched Carol! Definitely one of the good movies. It's not very fresh in my mind unfortunately, otherwise I'm sure I'd be able to give a more in-depth comment.

I haven't seen any of the other ones, so my watchlist just grew bigger!

I do watch movies in their original language :) You are right, the humour in that movie is ... I want to say sophisticated. I love some of the lines delivered by Christoph Waltz's character. Incredibly blunt!

Oh, the Asian lady 😍 😂

Can you believe they ended up together? Hollywood just got a few brownie points from me with that plot!

😊

I've been with my wife for over a decade at this point and I think your relationship advice is perfect.

However, now I really want to watch Shaun the Sheep.

Ahahahahaha

It is a LOVELY movie! Perfect for a lazy, romantic evening 😉

Pause for Reflection - Take a minute to think about the way you dealt with the last criticism you received from your spouse. How did you react?

1 – Abi, I got all defensive. 😲

😄😄 me and my husband have been together for 20 years... 13 years as boyfriend/girlfriend and 7 years as married couple, and as years go by we're becoming more mature in terms of the issues we've had, and before when we argue we will nit talk for couple of days but now, only minutes and the issues are gone either we talked about it or we ignore it,

When it comes to issues sometimes I am the one talking and talking and my husband was listening, and sometimes it is vice versa,

Heart rate down, a quick reflection and a couple of deep breaths later I pronounced to my husband ‘You are correct. What can I do to make things better?’

I hope I can do that someday too, ☺️
But why it is really hard sometimes to admit that my husband is right.... 😳😳😳

Thank you for a great reading ms. ABI.. 😘😘😘

Hello Dear @avhyaceulip 😊

Congratulations on your time together with your husband. You two, sure, are doing many things right to keep things going! It is great to hear you guys have managed to improve things; and being able to continue talking when there is an issue is a great step forward! Well done you both! :D

But why it is really hard sometimes to admit that my husband is right....

I believe you are getting there, you said you are able to listen to your husband when he talks. I see this as being half way there. In my opinion, there is one main reason why a partner has difficulties accepting that the other one is right: Pride. It is very important that we don't let our ego to get in our way to improvement. Being humble every once in a while is a grand gesture.

All the best to you and to your family!
😘

I will practice now being humble, you are right pride is the reason, i always want to be the right one heheehe.. Thank you so much ms. Abi for being a great advisor.... 😘😘😘

I have returned to your post, as promised...

I've been in touch with my manufacturers, and they replied to me in a letter.

I have burnt it, so you can't have a copy.

However, this is what they wrote to me...

'Sir, We can assure you there are no faults in your production model. You seem to be working perfectly fine.
We have had reports of other faulty models however, who seem to have a design fault.. and as such run a program of 'projection.exe', blaming others for no reason.
It is an illogical and randomly activated program that appears to turn on and off, in roughly 30 day cycles.
These faulty models are named 'female', although some 'male' production units can also suffer from this technical fault..'

Some of our 'Male' production units, however seem not to be able recognize this random program when activated in their presence, so we are unable to obtain reliable data as to how widespread this design fault is.
We can say there appears to be a physical correlation with these male units.
(see attached photo underneath for model physical appearance type, at a recent ceremony..)

hhh.jpg

humph! I say,...

nsw.jpg
humph!

OH MY GOD!! 😂 I hysterically laughed while and after reading this. My husband asked me what was so funny; then, I showed it to him and he had a good laugh too! You are unbelievable (but, mostly, creative though).

However, I found very 'convenient' that you burnt the letter from the manufactures !! 😛

Take care!
Have a great week ahead :*

Why ? That was serious post!
😂

Have a great week ahead

....you to senhora

Hola mi querida @abigail-dentes! como siempre una publicación magistral me quito el sombrero, mis respetos.

Bueno aquí vamos! en lo personal me siento muy identificado con esta publicación, ya que aborda un tema muy importante en mi vida, claro esta no daré detalles aquí por cuestiones personales en mi matrimonio, pero si diré lo mas relevante y que efectivamente tocas en este escrito.

Llevo casi 11 años de casado con mi esposa, ella y yo somos muy diferentes, ella es tranquila, de carácter sumiso, mientras que yo soy de mal carácter , pero esta "condición" mía me ha traído muchos problemas, no solo dentro del matrimonio también fuera de el, pero me preocupa más lo matrimonial, por mucho tiempo he querido cambiar ciertos aspectos de mi esposa que me irritan mucho, pero por mas que lo intente se que eso no va a pasar, después de todo este tiempo me he convencido de ello, esos aspectos hacen que explote de ira haciéndome reconocer a esta altura que tengo un problema de manejo de la ira bastante preocupante, trayendo muchos inconvenientes en mi matrimonio tanto al punto de querer divorciarme, mi esposa en vista de la situación busco ayuda profesional para mi problema, ella y yo hemos estado asistiendo regularmente e las cesiones para mejorar nuestra relación de esposos.

Efectivamente con el pasar de los años empiezan a florecer frustraciones, cosas que te molestaban de tu pareja pero que las tolerabas porque en algún momento pensaste que las iba a cambiar, pues sorpresa! Ese es mi caso, la Dra. que nos trata habla de lo que usted escribe en estas lineas, ella me dice "Javier cuando sientas que tu esposa te exaspera y estas a punto de perder la paciencia y la razón dile que por favor se detenga, si no lo hace respira profundo y abandona la habitación hasta que te calmes" pero lo que más me ayuda es aceptar a mi esposa tal cual es, a saber sobre llevar su personalidad resaltando sus virtudes, porque efectivamente hay cosas que nunca cambiará de su personalidad.

Mi estimada Abi, desde hace días le quería comentar sobre esto pero por los afanes no he tenido tiempo, hoy me refresca el alma al leer tan valiosas palabras, hay muchas cosas más que contar pero no es el medio, se alarmarían sus seguidores jajajaja.

Después con mas calma le comento por privado, Dios me la bendiga grandemente y le de larga vida sobre la tierra feliz fin de semana.

My dearest @javisem,

First of all, it pleases me very much that you liked this post. Secondly, I would like to thank you for sharing your situation with us here. I have great respect for people who are humble enough to both identify and discuss the issues they are struggling to get under control. I hope this can inspire others to take a minute and reflect on their own behaviour too.

Understanding that you struggle to keep calm under certain circumstances is a huge step forward towards getting your emotions under control. Add that to the fact you are being assisted by a professional and a loving, caring wife; you are nearly there :)

I think you have just inspired me to write a post! 😃

All the best to you always :) a big hug to you from Portugal!

This is the best article I've read on love, marriage and relationship after the book The five love languages by Gary Chapman. I have to resteem this so as to keep on reflecting on the post. It's such a great post. I'll be looking forward to more of it.

Thanks @abigail-dantes

Hello @emperorhassy :)

Your words are very flattering. Thank you very much for the support and your kindness.
Ps: I am going to read about the book you mentioned here.

All the best to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15