You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Cognitive Dissonance?

in #psychology7 years ago

Well i had to go read the initial posts on the link at the head of your blog, they are excellent!

A very interesting subject, regarding the 'Satan Claus' (not sure if you chose to spell it this way!) story, i was wondering if it would be best to remove it from a child's life, or if in fact it acts as an early lesson or test on handling future cognitive dissonance tests? A bit of mental training, so that when your girlfriend does cheat on you and your mate tells you so, you don't collapse into a hole you can never get out of?

Sort:  

LOL, woops Satan, yeah I get typos when I write Santa sometimes. I fixed it thanks.

I don't think it's good to lie to children just to generate emotions based on a fantasy story. There are plenty of times in life when a child is wrong and feels it lol. Thanks for the feedback.

:D i loved that typo.

Yes, no lies if possible, not even the fairy tale ones. I was speaking with my girlfriend, who is a Montessori teacher, last night about this subject and she tells me that it's key not to promote these kind of stories in the classroom. I do feel its promoted in other school systems, but mainly its the parents (me included) that are guilty for this!

Yeah the parents and society that reinforces it in culture and tradition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81