Using Positive Affirmations to Renew Your Mind

in #psychology4 years ago (edited)

Positive-affirmations-to-renew-your-mind.jpg

Renewing your mind with Positive Affirmations


There is power in words. Spoken words, written words, thoughts, and beliefs are extremely powerful. Do you engage in negative self-talk? Is your self-image correctly reflecting your true self-image? I have been studying a lot about the subject of subconscious reprogramming off and on since college. I can remember getting my first copy of Psycho-Cybernetics by Maxwell Maltz, and upon reaching the 'setting the goals' chapter, I marked and shut the book, well-intending to follow through one day.

"Plan my next 5 years?" I thought to myself, "but I am in college, and I am in flow of whatever comes my way."

Oh, how silly I was, full of determination to learn everything about everything that interested me. I do not regret any of it, well, I do not regret the majority of it because it got me to my goal. It taught me what not having a plan is like, it is like being a leaf that blows whichever way the wind blows, it is a stage of life where one gains experience.

Creating affirmations is all about defining what you do desire and don't desire, it is an ongoing process of refining your goals, your truth, your true identity, and creating a definite chief aim. It will work like self-hypnosis, as you listen to the words you drown out old thoughts and defensive mechanisms that cause some to manifest negative cycles over and over again. Negative cycles like fear of success, addictions or self-sabotage can stop if you reprogram your mind and continue to guard your thoughts. You cannot beat negative with negative, you must overcome the bad with good, this is how you renew your mind.

How do you Renew Your Mind with Affirmations?

It has been revealed that subconscious reprogramming happens mostly in Theta state it is the sleepy state you are in right before you fall asleep and right when you wake up. By playing, saying or reading affirmations that align with your goals or desires right before you go to sleep and right when you wake up, you make a sincere impression on your mind of your desires, focus, and intentions. When you repeat this process and proceed to also stand guard of your mind, choosing your thoughts wisely and affirming only those that get you closer to accomplishing your goals, you will create change in your reality. [1] Are you interested?

How to Write Positive Affirmations

A bit Logos to Rhema in this step, you will want to think of first-person statements like I am, in the present tense, that describes a desire in its already completed state. The content describes the specific outcome that you desire and your emotion gets to the heart of how you feel about that outcome.

Affirmation Key Points

  1. Enter the “now”
  2. Be positive
  3. Be concise
  4. Include action
  5. Include a feeling word

Examples of some Positive Affirmations I wrote for this recording

I am worthy.

I am loved.

I remain present in a state of loving-observation, my body is healthy; my mind is brilliant; my soul is placid and my life is in balance.

My heart is open, full of energy and love.

My life has a purpose.

I stand calm and confident in the face of controversy.

I put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience in all my responses.

I have a gift of faith and easily maintain a daily focus on my goals.

Renew-your-mind-using-positive-affirmations.png

Recording your own Positive Affirmations

I used audio recordings of water flowing in the Akerselva River in Oslo, Norway, one location by the pool and the other location under the bridge. I layered these samples for a fuller sound. My water samples sound like white noise or static to some. The video is from different locations along the same river. (I do not plan on monetizing this video so, I added a track I do not have permission to use with credits in the description.) I used Zoom to record my VO and layered it in iMovie, a really basic way to create and record your own Positive Affirmations on a Mac.

My first example of a Positive Affirmations track (below), is a bit rough. My audio editing program is unavailable right now but I managed to create a better one on my second try.

1.

2. Renew your Mind with Positive Affirmations and the sounds of Akerselva

Psycho-Cybernetics Study Notes

Buy the book Psycho-Cybernetics to learn more about how to retrain and renew your mind with a better understanding of how your mind works and how to program it to achieve goals. Here is a great video to get you started...

Try this 21-Day Renew Your Mind Challenge with me

Please share with me your favorite Positive Affirmation videos or phrases!

Reference:

  1. Catherine Moore, Psychologist, MBA, Positive Daily Affirmations: Is There Science Behind It? Postive Psychology, viewed 4 January 2020, https://positivepsychology.com/daily-affirmations/
Sort:  

I only discovered these late last year and it’s awesome it sort of gives you the chance to manifest your goals and force you to set a plan for your life and put things into perspective

We’re always so busy and distracted these days and things become so chaotic we don’t take the time to set ourselves straight and do the inner work

I agree with you @chekohler, it helps you clear your mind of all the rubbish thoughts that do not align with your goals or your true self-identity. Being busy and distracted keeps us from what we could accomplish if we had desire and focus. You may enjoy YouTuber Joseph Rodrigues, he creates study notes and mind maps of spiritual, psychology, and philosophical books and then discusses them in a video.

Congratulations @a3t! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98