Terence McKenna: "Linear Societies, Nonlinear Drugs"

In the photo below you can see the white chairs where we sat while Terence was speaking.


This was my second podcast from the Psychedelic Salon. I posted it on April 19, 2005, and if I were you I would skip the first three minutes and forty seconds, which is my introduction of this program. At the time that I made this podcast I was still just playing around with the technology, trying to figure out how it worked. On top of that, I had no idea of how to be a podcast host. It took several hundred more podcasts before I even came close to getting as comfortable with hosting a podcast as I am today.

The talk that I played in this podcast was one of the last ones that Terence McKenna ever gave at one of the now-legendary Palenque Entheobotany Seminars. These seminars took place at the Chan-Kah Hotel near the Palenque, Mexico ruins and featured such psychedelic luminaries as Sasha and Ann Shulgin, Manuel and Donna Torres, Giorgio Samorini, Christian Raetsch, Claudia Muller-Ebeling, Jonathan Ott, and many more.

For almost a decade these seminars were held over a two week period, usually in January when the weather wasn't quite so hot. Attendees at these seminars would sign up for either the first week or for the second week, in which the previous week's sessions were repeated. On Friday morning the all of the presenters and attendees would gather around the pool for an all morning Q & A session.

Friday Morning Q & A Session

As it turned out, the day after this talk by Terence, I stayed home from the trip that everyone else took to the ruins, and I ate 16 large fresh mushrooms that I had just bought from a young Mexican man on the road up to the ruins. Back then I was kind of anal when taking psychedelics, and so I took some notes right after I ate the mushrooms. At first I was worried that they weren't strong enough because they were taking so long to come on. But as these notes to myself went on, my handwriting was becoming more difficult to read. The final entries in my note book read:

Don't forget: Ask the mushroom What next? What path should I choose to lead me to the proper conclusion of the last half of this trip . . . gotta go inside and lay down

That's the end of my notes, but that particular mushroom trip became a turning point in my life. I remember many details from it. Six months later, just a week before my 57th birthday, I quit my job, moved from Florida to California, and became engaged to a woman that I had met at that magical conference in Palenque. We're still married.

I have a lot more stories from those Palenque conferences. In time I may tell a few more :-).

The following are my original program notes from this podcast:

On Saturday night, January 16, 1999, Terence McKenna gave one of his last lectures at the legendary Entheobotany Series by the foot of the pool at the Chan-Kha Hotel near the Mayan ruins at Palenque, Mexico. There were about 100 people sitting in the moonlight, listening to the lowing of cattle in the distance and the occasional chatter of the howler monkeys in the trees nearby. This was Terence doing what he did best, which was to challenge all of us to stretch our minds to their far limits and then expand them once again.

This recording was made by my dear friend Noah who recorded most of the talks at this and many other conferences. Later he gave me this copy of the recording. Noah wouldn't take any money for the copy he gave me, in fact, he wouldn't even take anything to pay for his cost in duplicating the tape. He just said, "I want as many people as possible to hear what Terence has to say. Please pass it around." Sadly for us, Noah has moved on to another dimension. But wherever you are, Noah, you will be remembered every time someone listens to these wonderful recordings you made.

Sort:  

I apologize for the huge SoundCloud player. For some reason Steemit doesn't recognize the HTML to make it smaller. . . . Any hints as to how I can fix that?

The world is made of language. That is such a classic idea from Terrence McKenna.

It's interesting that the statement itself is made of language, from the macro level where we humans interpret the sound waves or visual symbols, down to the quantum level which forms the basis of those sound or light waves.

I wonder though if the world is only made of language, or if it's also made of something else. Randomness also seems to play a part in the formation of things, and I don't think randomness can be considered language or code. Because if anything random is discovered to have meaning, it kind of takes the randomness out of it. So if anything is truly random, I think it points to a place beyond language, outside it, or preceding it.

Over the years I've thought a lot about that idea of Terence's. Today I'd word it a little differently as: Humans think about the world in various languages. Thus language, in a way, shapes our understanding of the world.

Yes. Language is so intertwined with how people understand the world. I've been studying Japanese for many years, and still have not cracked the code, nor do I ever expect to. But I do get insights from time to time. Language learning is another form of mind expansion. Travel is as well, and I think I remember Terrence mentioning this more than once.

Just woke up and read this post. That's interesting that your trip led to marriage and quitting your job. Did you have any doubts before you took that plunge?

I'll listen to this episode now.

As far as the SoundCloud player issues, it's probably just that they haven't implemented the code to do that yet. There are a lot of embeds that don't display properly. But hopefully they'll address that when they finally release the interface overhaul.

As for quitting my job and getting married, that all just seemed to flow naturally after that Sunday mushroom trip. When my roommate returned from the Ruins that day and asked about my experience I told him that I "had just taken a hard left turn." And so I did :-).

I think my experiences also led me to a change of career from working with the military in Saudi Arabia to teaching English. I remember changing my mind but don't remember the decision coming after a particular experience.

I did however lose my aversion to peanut butter with the help of mushrooms. It wasn't something I was looking to do, but my best friend, knowing how much I hated the stuff, brought me a big spoonful, actually unaware of my state of mind. In my open state I ate the whole thing and found it absolutely delicious. Not earth shattering but another example of how these things can clear away fears and aversions.

Ask the moshroom what's next - besides all the other great messages, this one I love most - I can connect to it so well - knowing 100% the sensation and status you are describing here... today I don't even need to eat the moshroom - I dream it, it dreams me and I wake up telling my hubby: I dreamed we should buy crypto... ;-) luckily he never questions my dreams, he just marches on and about fullfilling the content lol thank you for your post! Enjoyed it - again every single line of it!!

re: "don't even need to eat the mushroom", I agree. . . . as Alan Watts said, "Once you get the message, hang up the phone."

haha, yes, that what it is about when you got to the end of the wire... hang up the phone:-)
glad we are connected here!!! looked at a couple of your "old" stuff on youtube... and really enjoying it! cheers from Germany :-)

Congratulations @lorenzohagerty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29