You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PSYCHEDELICS & SPIRITUALITY: My Experiences (vlog)

in #psychedelics7 years ago

Hey! I had already pondered when I'd come across a theme like this. I guess Steemit community really could be the kind that is free of judgment​ towards this subject, and that understands the ideas you've pointed out.

I also agree that these experiences are not meant for everyone. I think the first step towards a positive experience is having an open mind towards these plants and substances, and a calm, unbiased awareness of what it is, how it works, and how it may help.
What is also important is timing, the conditions, and the level of psychological, intellectual and spiritual readiness. Once you’re ready to face whatever you may and you approach it from a manner as you would interpret a dream, with such mindset I think it is possible to make these experiences a valuable insight.

I like that over all you stress responsibility and reiterate that this is not the only way towards personal growth. Meditation, for instance, is one of the many ways one can achieve a heightened state of mind, and readiness to explore the mind.

No matter what the technique, moments of profound introspection are needed, and through these analyses, ​we may lead a life that is free, full, and in control.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Hey @art.life. The reason I asked him was because I'd come across many people on Steemit who are similarly minded, far more than in real life and on other social media platforms (where you tend to get unfriended for outside-the-norm views). Of all the people I've met very few I think are open to these kind of experiences. You're right, you have to pay very close attention to set and setting. I fucked this up, psilocybin truffles in the middle of Amsterdam and Peruvian shrooms at home... when I had a new born baby crying lol. Not the calmest places to be. I even knew that but still fucked it up! I have since found meditation and don't do it often enough but am working at it and should really make it my main focus.

Many people have had such distressing experiences. It's just that too many are cautious about bringing up the subject itself.
Meditation daily has helped me a lot in dealing with routine, pressure and anxiety. I prefer Michael Sealey on Youtube.

Also, meditation-style guided hypnosis sessions can spark a really profound introspection in your emotions and thoughts. Remember - you can control your thoughts, it feels difficult, but it is entirely upon us. Our minds and bodies are like computers, and you are the one who's in control, the user. Understanding that has also helped me a lot. :)

Thanks @art.life - yes it thought to be a "dangerous" subject to discuss - but then it seems more dangerous to not discuss it! Thank you for the reminder of the connection to meditation as well. These are important skills for us to learn how to observe ourselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27