Sort:  

That was heavy. I'm not much of an academic reader but your perspective is pretty fascinating to find as academic writing. It's never been more clear to me that our collective thought and desires manifest into the physical world. And what a ridiculous mess? Interesting time to human eh?

I’m glad you found it fascinating, for any kind of writing. But yes, I do think that 1) memes are real things out there and they can manifest in a way that is both cyberspace and “the real world,” and 2) tokens! Tokens will offer a way to throttle these memes, at least I’m hoping—and hedging on that assumption a lot.

Wow, that's a page full.
I think I need to read a bit more on your blog, it would seem.

I don't know when that's going to happen, but there's some interesting ideas alluded to here, and the Dead can Dance, I certainly believe that.
white men can't jump.
but the dead can dance.

one of my favourite musical experiences, and brings Baraka to mind, which is always a powerful and moving thing to happen.

I take issue with the idea that

the discourse is bad now, even on the left

as the left is possibly more insane now than the right, but both sides and almost all sides are gone crazy true

Lisa Gerrard’s voice got me through a really tough year of Trump research, oh man.

ha, I just googled and realised my error. or my lack of knowledge of who she was.

I now realise you mean her 'voice' voice.

because her lyrics are a bit tough

I also meant to hyperlink! Thank you for bringing it to my attention. Will fix 👨‍💻

have you got a good link, something to read, or listen to?

I have never heard the name

Her book the meme machine is a bit dated, but a fantastic introduction to memetics. It was written for a mainstream audience. Here’s the TED talk:

That is interesting though a bit challenging to understand (at least for me). You are on a whole other level of understanding this issue. What are you doing your PhD in?

There is some really interesting stuff in this article, especially about "memetic bits" that infect the brain. However, you might have to "dumb down" what you're saying a bit, so that I can understand it hahaha. I dont think I'm as smart as you

I’ll try my best to break it down—one thing I’m trying is to write shorter posts (if you scroll through my feed, you’ll see this is a shorter one...). I’m glad that the imagery of memetic bits did work for you, however!

Yeah I did notice the length of some of them which adds to the challenge. I mean that as helpful feedback though, not to take anything away from your work. I think what you write about is great and super interesting. Your academic writing style really comes - it all comes down to the audience you are writing to - the average steemit user or highly intellectual folk? I'll definitely continue to tune in :)

The question of audience is my no. 1 ruminating thought at the moment. It’s so hard to gage who I’m writing for right now, both bc I’m transitioning from academic life as I finish my degree and bc we are still in beta on steemit. I’m just pleased that people—not bots—are starting to slowly engage my content. No matter the methods of writing/research and rigor of sourcing, an intelligent non-expert (on whatever I’m writing about) is my ideal reader. It’ll take me some time! Really appreciate your engagement.

yeah its tough. Finding your target audience is like marketing yourself (which I know nothing about). Its all trial and error for me lol. Intermixing long and short, academic and non-academic posts is another way.

But anyway. Keep it up! I think the posts are great. You have a very interesting perspective.

Congratulations @spectrums! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Apologies for the delay on getting back to comments, y’all. I took myself offline for a few days for some much-needed TV time. Back and in action writing #blockchain-theory today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66