A New Approach to Managing Psoriasis

in #psoriasis7 years ago (edited)

I first developed psoriasis 13 years ago. Initially, all my efforts centered on finding the causes and a cure. My pursuit of healthy skin was relentless. I read many books and saw numerous alternative practitioners. Over time, I modified my diet and tried various herbs and supplements. I also used plant-based topical agents. I was encouraged by the improvement I saw with natural treatments.

Then in 2016, I saw additional improvement after enrolling in holistic nutrition school. I learned more about the impact of food on psoriasis and further tweaked my diet. I'm grateful to say I'm considerably healthier since.

But I still have psoriasis. Nevertheless, I feel so much better! "How is this possible," you ask? "How can you have the discomfort and still feel good?" It's because I've shifted my focus. I've found that calm mental and emotional states also aid in healing skin.

A few years ago, I had an epiphany, a light bulb revelation! Thinking there might be some psychological blocks preventing my healing, I became interested in Vipassana meditation. Amazed by its effects, I started practicing daily. It completely changed my perspective on life with psoriasis.

Have you noticed the link between outbreaks and stress? We each have different ways of coping with life's curve balls. I've found that daily meditation is the greatest aid in managing this disease.

When psoriasis dominates my thinking, I ride an emotional roller coaster. I don't like the dramatic vacillation between bright hope and utter despair. It's exhausting.

When anticipation runs high, I charge after the latest natural treatments. I excitedly think, "Maybe this new supplement or botanical will be my ultimate cure." When it doesn't completely work, the bubble of expectation bursts, and I'm left with depression. Then, a barrage of dark thoughts marches through my mind. "What's wrong with me? Why won't my skin heal?" However, self-reproach never helps.

Now, my go-to "treatment" is meditation. By stilling my mind, I can better accept my skin condition. I can be serene regardless of how my skin looks and feels. When I reach a realm of mental quiet, everything is okay.

Acceptance is the wonderful state of being at ease. There's no worry, anger, or frustration. In meditation, I release the struggle of fighting against myself. I shelve concerns, take a break from anxiety. Meditation works like a broom, sweeping out negative, futile thoughts.

It also clears emotional clutter. I become less reactive and more grateful. At the core of my being is a place of quietude where I can fully relax. Often, I receive guidance for the next step in my healing process. Then, feeling strong, stable, and energized, I can better handle life.

Today, my view of psoriasis is entirely different from years ago. This disease has become my teacher, helping me achieve a healthier lifestyle. Psoriasis has made me more compassionate than ever before. I care deeply for people, especially my companions on this path to healing.

Psoriasis has also crystallized my calling. For the time being, my life's work is to help others with stubborn skin conditions. At https://www.optiderma.com the website I've founded, I share proven natural treatments for troubled skin.

Here's what I want to say to people who have psoriasis: you can have psoriasis and still be happy. Even when you hit rough patches on this road, you can be at peace. Acceptance fosters serenity. For me, meditation is the key.

When you surrender the struggle of fighting this disease, you're empowered to move forward. Acceptance doesn't mean you stop striving for a better outcome. You continue making efforts, but there's less mental and emotional stress involved.

I look at my current condition this way. Perhaps other people have fine-tuned the things their bodies need. Since I'm still a work in progress, there must be more knowledge for me to gain. Fortunately, I love learning!

Don't ever give up your vision of healthy skin. Your clear image will sequentially lead you to the goal. But you have to make peace with the process. Meditation is an inner haven.

Each of us only has this moment and this day. Let's make the best of our lives, spreading happiness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34