My Top Ten PlayStation One Games of All Time

in #psone7 years ago (edited)

Logo-PSX.png

The PlayStation one was a revolutionary console. It was Sony’s knight in shining armor. The console showcased some of the top RPG’s ever and bought a whole new level when it comes to gaming. It set today's standard when it comes to gaming. Made in 1994, the PlayStation had a remarkable run for year almost 12 years after its release. Known for its CD base foundation and great control, this console was a history making one to say the least. This was one of the reasons the Sega Saturn fizzled out.

Just to let you guys know, I am a big time collector, so I am picky when it comes to which version of the game I buy. With the PlayStation there were two version of the game. Like Johnny Walker, to me the labels do matter to me. There was a greatest hits line up (green label) I tend to not pick these up because they seem tacky to me. If you're a gamer that wants to play the game for the experience, then do so. If you're a collector that wants the best get the original (black label). Here are my top ten PlayStation games of all time.

Honorable Mentions

Final Fantasy VIII, Final Fantasy IX, Crash Bandicoot 3, Vagrant Story, Tales of Destiny, Gran Turismo 2, The Legend of Dragoon, Twisted Metal 2, Papa the Rapper, Suikoden II.

Number 10: Resident Evil 2 (Capcom, 1998)

Known as Bio Hazard overseas and successor of the original Resident Evil, this survival horror will make you want to play with the lights on, because you WILL shit your pants. Taking place right after the events of first, the game takes you to Raccoon City where a zombie virus has infected everyone within the city limits. The game consist of two disc, each with the same story but different characters, Leon S. Kennedy and Claire Redfield. This was one good game and should be in your collection if you're a collector. A greatest hits version of this game was released as well, but the black label is the one you want to own. There are also a N64, Dreamcast and Game Cube versions as well, and I would advise to pick up them up if you come across it as well since they are rare tittles on those platforms.
2b263fd8f69176592e5cf013ca07bf72ec0db59f_hq.jpeg

Number 9:Final Fantasy Tactics (SquareSoft, 1997)

This is not your normal Final Fantasy. The game play of this one differs in several different key settings form other games in the franchise. The game doesn’t compromise of the normal turn time base platform, but more of a strategic stance where you can place your each of your squad on different squares on a battle map to come up with a tactic on completing the mission. With a diverse selection of characters and plenty of jobs to assign them with, this a unique experience. This is one game that you should own put in your collection if you’re a Final Fantasy fan. A greatest hits version was released as well due to high demand and rarity at the time. Many also think this game is boring and I see why, but it is a great game if you put time and effort in to it.
018.jpeg

Number 8: Tekken 3 (Namco, 1998)

I was never a big Tekken fan. Growing up I had this love for Street Fighter and blew of the Tekken series as if it was a fart in the air. When I finally gave Tekken a chance, it was when I played part 3 and it grabbed me by the balls. With a high replay value, this fighting 3D game offered a lot. With amazing combos, awesome characters (Eddy) and a diverse selection of characters, Tekken 3 made the franchise to what it is today. After that I had a new found respect for the franchise. And of course greatest hits version exist.
tekken-3-usa.jpeg

Number 7: Ape Escape (Sony, 1999)

With the new dual shock control out in the US by 1998, the controller featured two new joysticks at the bottom right and left inner corners. Many speculated that the left joystick had no use that is when Ape Escape was released. Utilizing both right and left joysticks, Ape Escape gave gamers a new unique experience when it comes to gaming. With insane levels featuring some funny apes running around each with their own personality. You had to capture each ape with a net using the left joystick. This made the dual shock a must own and well of course, that control design has ever since stayed with the PlayStation, but for good reason.
86318-ape-escape-playstation-front-cover.jpeg

Number 6: R4: Ridge Racer Type 4 (Namco, 1998)

Ok, before you take out your frustration out on me because it is not a Gran Turismo (GT) tittle, let me explain. First, I loved this game, so it is MY list. Second, GT was a great franchise, but I did find it a tad too difficult. R4 was a game that had nice smooth graphics, which at the time seemed to have graphics way ahead of its time. Easy to pick up and play, this game bought the Ridge Racer franchise to a whole new level when it comes to racing. If you haven’t played it because you’re GT player and want to stay true, I would just tell you to play it once and see what I am talking about. The sound track is amazing!!!!! Like really good.
Ridge_Racer_Type_4.jpeg

Number 5: Final Fantasy VII (Squaresoft, 1997)

Now some will say that FF VII or IX was better than this one or it is over rated. I firmly believe that this game put the series main stream. With a compelling story line, this game has a lot to offer. With well over 100 hours of game play that can be invested in to it, this game put the RPG genre to the map. I cried when Aeris was killed by that asshole Sephiroth, I kind of still do till this day if I watch that part of the game. Tifa Lockheart was my crush as well at the time when I was playing it, and I know I was not the only one with that kind of love toward her, you guys know!
36908-Final_Fantasy_VII_[NTSC-U]_[Disc1of3]-1.jpeg

Number 4: Street Fighter Alpha 3(Capcom, 1998)

This to me is considered to be one of the best Street Fighters ever and the best in the alpha series. Large selection of characters, quick, high replay value and crisp in 2D graphics, Street Fighter Alpha 3 should be considered one of the best fighting games of all time. I still play it till this day on my PS Vita when I’m riding the subway using the toilet. This is a game that every collector should have. There is a Dreamcast version as well, which if you come across it at a reasonable price, get it! A boot up version was released as well on the PlayStation Portable, which too is a great game. A Gameboy Advance version was also released, ummm, lets just not talk about that one…….
44016-Street_Fighter_Alpha_3_(E)(Quartex)-1.jpeg

3.Xenogears (SquareSoft, 1998)

I traded my Ken Griffey jr rookie card for this game and I don’t regret it! An epic 2D game with a 3D environment, Xenogears is a gem that should be in every RPG collector’s library. This was the first game to come out in the Xeno series. Before it was handed to Namco and then Nintendo, Squaresoft made an RPG that had one of the most controversial story lines for a game at the time. I mean at the end they did show naked people. This is a game that every RPG lover should play. With a great combat system, lovable characters and awesome gears that you can play with, this a game that should not go unnoticed. The Xenosaga and Xenoblade series are connected in away to this gem, I forgot really how. Fun fact, this was supposed to be the original story line to Final Fantasy VII. I never knew that until last year, interesting.
dgn_xenogears_boxpsn.jpeg

  1. Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (Konami, 1997)

This is to many the best Castlevania in the franchise, and for good reason. This 2D action adventure had one of the biggest maps at the time. This is one of the reasons some call this type of genre metroidvania, due to the same action layout as certain Metroid games. Amazing replay value along side with a crazy story, in which when you think you beat the game, guess again. The whole castle turns upside down and you then have to explore that massive map! A game that you should play if you’re in to metroidvania games. There has been numerous of version of this gem that have been released after, such as on Xbox live, the PS store and as an extra for Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles for the PSP.
maxresdefault.jpeg

1.Metal Gear Solid (Konami, 1998)

This Hideo Kojima classic tattooed its legacy in the gaming industry forever. With a cinematic feel, unforgettable boss fights, unique game features and a griping story, Metal Gear Solid will remain as one of the best games not only on the PlayStation, by in video game history, PERIOD. This stealth action adventure set the stage for some of the well-known games we know today. New gamers might not be fond of the game due to its out dated graphics, but boy! Back in the day this was the game that had to be in everyone’s PlayStation library. So many easter eggs are on this game, some that are still being found till this day! Relatively cheap to buy, owning this game is must and hold! It was released on the greatest hit title line up as well, but if you can pick up a black label version for a reasonable price, grab it!
71XbLFYlW9L._SL1500_.jpeg

If you enjoyed reading my top tens, please follow or message me

Cheers!

Sort:  

Nice article man

I really like that you actually wrote a bit about each game you love and that you didn't just write a short list ;)

Resident Evil 2 one of my favorite!
do you know ODDWORLD?

Yeah, it was fun in these days :)
You forgot to mention GTA and GTA2. And FF was so much fun then <3

GTA and GTA 2 were great games, but the franchise didn't find take off until the PS2 with GTA3!

YES, METAL GEAR SOLID :D We have the same opinion! It is like playing an interactive movie, best game ever!

My favorite game for PS1 and probably of all time is The Legend of Dragoon. I've probably played that game a dozen times. It's great. Nice list though!

I liked The Legend of Dragoon, actually I think I should get it for my collection. They need to release it on PS store soon!

They had it on the PS store for PS3. I played it again back when they released it for the system and man it was a trip down memory lane.

The Legend of Dragoon is so undervalued! I played the first CD in a row and it took several hours but I did it! Vagrant Story (should be in the list as well) was also a legendary tittle in my opinion... It had an interesting and unique gameplay. I don't understand why there is no sequel...

Liked your list, I think the PSone is the system I played most games on... I still remember the fond days of playing Digimon World!! Tekken 3, Chrono Trigger (The PSOne Port) which I got from a friend and Chrono Cross (which I think have the best RPG battle system on the platform)!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59