SOMEDAY’S COMING

in #proverbs7 years ago

stairs-2203290_1280.jpg
Proverbs 6:6-11 (KJV)
Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:
Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler,
Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.
How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep?
Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep:
So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth, and thy want as an armed man.

I’ve told you about the guy that worked at Payless Shoes in Warrenton, Oregon haven’t I? My family and I was in the Payless Shoes years ago.

After we had picked out the shoes we were going to buy we stepped up to the counter where another customer, a woman we knew, a member of one of the Pentecostal Churches in the area, was already standing and obnoxiously badgering – she would have called it witnessing to – the man at the register.

As I approached, she called out to me and said, “Pastor McKenzie, tell this man that he needs to be saved.” I can’t recall the entire exchange but it ended with him saying, “I don’t have time for God. I am 25 years old. I have to save for retirement!”

I was pretty young myself, maybe 32-35 years old. As a Christian I inwardly jeered at his lack of sound priorities.
•He did not know he would live until retirement
•His retirement account isn’t nearly as important as his eternal destiny and
•He was 25! He was way too young to be thinking about retirement

If I was 35 he’s now about 48. If he is still alive, his retirement is a lot closer now than it was back then.

I come from a generation of pastors who didn’t think a lot about their future years.
• Jack Hyles aggressively told us he had no retirement
• Most of us had opted out of Social Security
• We all planned to pastor until we died and
• Jesus is coming before I need to retire anyway

I can remember reading passages like,
Matthew 6:27-34 (KJV)
Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?
And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:
And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.
Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?
Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?
(For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.
But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.
Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

And really struggling because I had started a retirement IRA account when I was 24 years old. It wasn’t much money I was setting aside, but with as little as we were living on back then, it hurt a lot to put that money away each month.

Did I lack faith in God?

Years have passed since then – much more quickly than I would ever have dreamed they would.
• Jack Hyles did die while still pastoring but
• A whole bunch of preachers lost their health and had to quit pastoring way before they died.
• A lot of preachers opted back in to Social Security when offered a window to do so and
• A bunch of preachers realized that there are other verses in the Bible besides Matthew 6:27-34
Verses that present a different side to the whole saving for the future thing.

Verses like Proverbs 6:6-8 (KJV)
Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:
Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler,
Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.

I. A LESSON FROM NATURE
Proverbs 6:6-8 (KJV)
Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:
Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler,
Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.

We would be mistaken to take from this that ants have no organization.

There is a great deal of:
• Order
• Structure and
• Organization
in an ant colony.

• There is an ant whose job is to be the queen
• There is an ant whose job is to be a drone and mate with the queen
• There is an ant whose job is to be a worker whose job is to care for the colony’s needs
• There are even ants who are born specifically to fly off and start new ant colonies
There is a lot of organization.

What there isn’t is an ant whose job it is to make sure all the rest of the ants have a solid savings plan. None of us can force another person to save for the future. But a wise person does do it.

Notice secondly
II. A LESSON FROM GOD
Proverbs 6:6-8 (KJV)
Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:
Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler,
Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.

The lesson of the ant is a lesson from God on at least two levels:
A. It is God who gives the ant her instinct to save
The ant colony works, I think, similarly to the involuntary organs of our body.

• Nobody tells the heart to pump
• Nobody tells the stomach to digest
• Nobody tells the liver to filter

They just do what they were made to do.

Ants, like almost all creatures except man, just do what they were made to do.

We were made to love and fellowship with God. We would be much better off if we did that.

B. It is God who teaches us to “consider her ways”
By the way, in preparation for this lesson I read up a bit on ants.

Did you know that the majority of ants in a colony are female?
All of the ants that we see outside of the nest are females. This REALLY explains why they get in such a panic when you mess up their house!

God tells us to consider her ways and then points us to one specific “way.”
III. A LESSON ABOUT THE FUTURE
Proverbs 6:6-8 (KJV)
Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:
Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler,
Provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.

The ant prepares in the summer for the coming winter.

Now here is the lesson:
Someday is coming.

The future, which seems so far off when we are younger, gets here much more quickly than we will wish it did. Preparing for that winter of our life is not a lack of faith because that winter will come.

I do not recommend you quit church and start putting everything you have into some sort of retirement account. But I do recommend you put something into a “someday account.”

It does not have to be a huge amount – especially if you begin early.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Your "service" is not free, you are selling your ideas for 10% of ones income. Don't sell your vacuum cleaners to folks trying to buy shoes. You are biting into his retirement trying to get him to buy your minority view.

10% we seek far more than that. We seek the whole person given to God.

Some of us don't want to talk about giving our selves to what we see as a mythical being. Your attempt to sell your service is soliciting. I would not try to sell strangers a boat.

No one has required you to join in to this conversation. Having done so, I welcome your comments. The fact that Jesus Christ has changed the course of this world is undeniable. It is also indisputable that faith in him as improved the lives of countless numbers. No doubt there are many who have abused faith in Christ, but the good that faith in One who walked on this earth so long ago, in such a small part of this world, is miraculous to say the least.

A know that I am approaching you with this. I am not saying that you are pushing at me.

Your post seemed like a question and I know what it is like to be accosted by the faithful.

I agree with your some of your opinions in your last statement

Jesus was a person with revolutionary ideas who did change the world.
Many folks are better off as Christians and many folk are better off for the actions of Christians including many non Christians. Christians make life better for me in some ways. Your philosophies make people do things that they might not do without Christianity. Some of those things are important to society. I know you and your faith are important and world changing and I admire you for your leadership in the cause.

I feel the way some folks proselytize is undesirable.

I approached you to see what people like yourself think. I agree with some of it and you have made me think more about what good your faith does.

my point in all of this is that you might try a more passive approach with more understanding for resistance.

I hope you don't feel disrespected, I think a person who tries to help is the one most worthy of respect.

"I hope you don't feel disrespected, I think a person who tries to help is the one most worthy of respect."

Not at all. Thanks for your reply.

I did not grow up a Christian. My family - brothers and sisters are in all sorts of trouble because of drugs and alcohol. My mom was a bartender. My step dad was an professional rodeo cowboy and an alcoholic. I became a Christian at the age of 21 and it has saved my life. I believe ANYONE can benefit from faith.

However, I too am afraid of how some within Christianity manipulate others with their faith.

dude right! The prosperity gospel thing is nuts. Some churches are discriminatory and lead their followers to think that way.
The Mormons would not have black people in power until 1978. I went to a church once when I was little that was overtly antisemitic. All groups have the power to lead folks to do questionable things. Deviating from basic tenements like kindness and respect and getting political is almost asking for trouble.

No argument here. :-)
Still, faith in God, and following the Word of God according to the dictates of one's own conscience is a healthy thing. I do not require anyone to agree with me. I only ask they have a solid, well thought out and studied reason for their position. My position is that there is a God and we must all give an account to Him one day. Heaven and hell are literal and the eternal souls of all men and women will go to one or the other and that one's faith in Jesus Christ is what makes the difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42