Protonmail VPN Live

in #protonmail7 years ago (edited)

Protonmail is an amazing free encrypted email service that allows you to send and receive encrypted emails using public key encryption behind the scenes without having to know all the fancy command line pgp options. They are hosted in Switzerland, and everything they host is "zero-knowledge" so even if they were asked to hand over all the data on your account, they couldn't give the authorities anything other than encrypted stuff.

Now they've launched their VPN service. I've been a beta tester for Protonmail VPN for a couple of months now and I've been really happy with it so far. This week they rolled out their production version and I am currently on the "free" plan which gives me 1 connection, and access to servers that are "slow". Except for the fact that I have access to fewer servers around the world and the servers I do have access to are "free", I'm very impressed with the speeds so far. I have one other VPN I run on a virtual server that would allow me to keep my computer on 1 VPN service while my phone is on another. So far, I'm a happy customer. I pay for Protonmail because I take advantage of the additional aliases and domains. But to be a customers, you don't have to pay, and I think you can get their VPN for free as well.

IMG

Sort:  

I just visited protonmail.com and got one of those annoying popups about a virus on my computer. It locked me out and I had to reboot. It looks like the site has been hacked - probably Google saboteurs - so I am hoping you, or someone reading this, can get a message to site admin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56355.98
ETH 2973.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14