Why I support civil disobedience in South Africa tomorrow...and why I am not taking part

in #protest7 years ago

This is an unbelievably fast moving story and new information comes to light by the minute it seems. I have spent much time pondering this matter, and trying to sort out my complicated thoughts on this issue and I've spent the week speaking to people of all races and walks of life, as I own a small shop.

Should Zuma step down? Yes. And I believe he will. When that happens, what will change? Nothing will change. This is not only a South African problem, but the symptom of  a worldwide malaise. Government. Governments take a large chunk of our earnings to spend on themselves (corruption) and to kill other people (war and armaments). Bluntly and simplistically put.


I have the desire to be part of something bigger than myself, something that will change the world so my children can have a better life. Civil disobedience sounds just about awesome  right now. My pent up anger could really use that outlet. BUT


I feel this action is going to be racially divisive. It will also divide us on a class level. I don't think this is a reason not to go ahead with the protest action, but every action has consequences and we must be aware of that. There have already been vitriolic social media arguments as to why "we" (the white people) did not stand together with "them" (the black people) on previous issues, notably #feesmustfall university protests. Humans are different and have different needs, as well as different boiling points, so these arguments don't hold any weight with me.


Why do I support tomorrow's planned protest action? Hopefully people who have never before stood up for something  will be awakened. We can't continue to plod on like sheep while our world burns and children die of hunger. I suppose you have to choose your battles. I can't support a battle to replace one government with another. For me this is simply a continuation of the status quo.


I had a lady in the shop yesterday who said that she felt exhausted, plodding on everyday. Then she said "but I suppose I shouldn't complain". I asked her why shouldn't she complain? I told her she should be angry this is what her life has come to. We are all being driven harder and harder in order to prop up a failing system. This is not a South African issue.


I've had to think about what actions I can take to express my beliefs. The overthrow of governments globally is what I would like. Kind of overwhelming? I can talk, I can blog....and I can love. We need to really talk to each other. Especially to people outside of our social circles. We need to smile more, and accept more.


To the marchers, congratulations for taking a stand in what you believe in. Try to consider this is a fight that goes so much deeper. Stay safe, you owe this to your families who must come first in your lives. Although unlikely, remember Sharpeville. Remember the power of love and support, not violence and hate, will change the world.


Namaste

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

Sort:  

I hope that Jacob Zuma will resign, even though i doubt it. To me he is a perfect example of a corrupt politician, and nothing harms a society more than corruption (except for war of course).

All the best here from Scandinavia!

Thank you. I doubt he will resign, but I also think he is on his way out. Things are about to get interesting. Thanks @katharsisdrill

I don't know much about the issues in South Africa.., but I agree completely, that this is a bigger issue -- the world around us is crumbling around every corner you turn.., while our politicians and people in charge play golf and dine on meals whipped up by their private chef -- the people go hungry. It's a sad state of affairs all over the world...

All the best!

Thank you...things on the street for the ordinary person are TOUGH.

Congratulations! Governments and governors are the plague of our time.
Here in Germany I fight for direct democracy as it exists in Swizzerland.

Hopefully the more of us that stand together worldwide will make a difference one day...for our children.

I will also NOT take part...

If I may ask, what are your reasons? If you don't want to share that's fine :) Just curious.

Sorry did not see this...my reason firstly is that it would be a total waste of time and I can do something way more useful. Secondly it is a useless action. Nothing can bring down that clown. He has lied enough, stolen enough and corrupted this whole country already. He is here to stay....and IF he goes he will walk away scottfree....got way better things to do...

My issue is that all politicians are corrupt. I think he will go. And be replaced with the....same.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28