Will Thinking Lead To More Eyeballs and Friendships? (A Guide / Question)

in #proofofattention7 years ago (edited)

Attention economy. Do it the hardcore way:-

  • Try to build followers one at a time.
  • Read stuff, leave great comments - it's worth spending free time here.
  • Funny, serious, factual - it'll be up to you.
  • Quality over quantity of outputs, and posts / comments / replies don't necessarily have to be long.
  • Try crafting something really short and simple, but spend a long-enough amount of time thinking (or tinkering) about it.
  • Find out if others can really tell if you've put plenty of real thought into your posts / comments / replies.
  • If you have free time, try spending 6 hours making the best shortpost / meme ever, then test the market by posting it.
  • People say that it takes 10,000 hours to master a skill, and I think that thinking is a skill all by itself. So your thinking should become faster as you spend more time thinking, I think.
  • Try not to slam / spam with little to no thought.
  • Experimenting is fun.

Musing: Will Proof-of-Attention ever be possible? Even if the end-product (subjectively) sucks, at least there's something to show that one has really paid plenty of attention into crafting their thing? PoA doesn't determine payouts (ideally, it should) - it just shows focus and dedication, I guess.

Image source - 1


Sort:  

"Try to build one follower at a time."

A good follower is hard to find :-)

A good follower also wouldn't follow others all the time , if that makes any sense lol :)

The greatest proof of attention that I can take seriously is when my readers and followers engage in conversations and dialogue with me that could only be a result of having read what I write. This of course leads me to having "favorites" who I interact with frequently, who (at least appear to) give a damn about what I have to say.

We all have the same (limited) amount of time every day. There's only so much we can read and genuinely interact with.

While it might (initially, and for a while) be interesting to interact with an "AI / bot" reader or follower, I think in the long run I still will crave real people who actually read what I write and benefit from it. ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

I suppose PoA is the sum of all interacts, etc. Now if there's a good way to measure such a thing! When more people come into Steemit, I think it's time to think less about what to post and more about going through stuff and leaving comments / replies. And also, talk less about Steemit haha!

I am a great advocate of the Bauhaus philosophy of Less is More. When posting on Steemit I always strive for quality over quantity, in fact I have a rule- one post per day max.

There's another advocate of the Bauhaus philosophy here - @voronoi :)
I think multiple a day is okay to reach to different types of audiences, although arguably that can be spread out through multiples days..

Personally, I post on Facebook everyday - I've been using it like a notepad actually. But these notes are usually privated to "Only Me" - now I'm finding a way to use this Steemit like a notepad too. Since it's transparent, I think the best way to go about this is using a tag like #shortpost for blurbs. Just feel like thoughts in passing may also be simple enough to make good connections with others..

I hypothesize that it will, and am running this account to experiment whether that is the case. ;)

A little kindness, a bit of interaction and making things worth talking about I think will be the recipe for success.

A little kindness, a bit of interaction and making things worth talking about I think will be the recipe for success.

With you there :)

I hypothesize that it will, and am running this account to experiment whether that is the case

What would be a good benchmark / units of measurement, you think?

I am hoping to bench mark it by generation of discussion on my posts. I like to think that people would be more likely to want to take time out of their days to engage with me if they know I am interested in interacting with them, and strive to do so in a welcoming and accepting fashion (though sometimes I let my emotions get the best of me and I might fail at being as accepting as I should... I am a work in progress).

One at a time. Drop comments. Spend free time here.
Little wonder I'm almost on 50 followers in a little over a week.
I should keep at it 😊

It's just a rather sad thing that once you've reached 150.. that's pretty much the limit of really knowing accounts. Good thing there's a rep system, and I suppose there should be other different measurements for rep to help out with the "memory" of accounts.. or there should a personal note form included for every account (which would mean anyone can leave notes on another account)

But just like what happens when you repetitively do something, you'll always remember those you interact with regularly.

Excellent advice here. 'Try to build followers one at a time' - such an important point, social engagement and commenting is so important, whoever you are.

Yeah it's not one that I'm good at.. but I sometimes go through new posts and just leave a good remark here and there.. and only if I think it's good enough, but otherwise pretty much blank headed most of the time :p

Thank you, defenitly going to try this!

Proof-of-human received - gave you a follow! Hopefully eyeballs are there when you post that something up :)

Haha thank you!

Hello @kevinwong. I watched you with my eyeball :p.....hehehe Good show! :-)

I see that you've got great eyeballs! I'm enthralled xD

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.90 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38