7 Good Ways for New Steemians to Gain Upvotes and Followers

in #promotion7 years ago

Seven Effective Ways for New Steemians to Get Upvotes and Followers

Lots of new Steemians give up before they ever get started. Gaining traction when you're new can be a little like trying to push your car up a steep cliff. No, you can't just pour your heart and brain into producing good content because you will face lots of competition from people who already have a lot more voting power and connections. So, it's time for you to look for some resources that will help your power up on your own.

So, here we go.....

Steemengine.net - Yes, this is my referral code: https://steemengine.net/join?r=11

Steem Engine is more than just a platform to help you earn some upvotes and followers by donating some of your own. They also blog here and maintain a Discord channel, so you can enjoy two-way communication with the nice folks who run the place and other members. The FAQ section of the site will answer most of your questions, and you can also find their communication channels on the site.

I have mentioned Steem Engine a few other times but always forgot to include my referral code. If you decide to use my link, I get a few extra points. You are welcome to use it or not use it. Steem is a mostly free country. :)

Facebook Groups - Try this one for starters: https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemitworld/

You can find a lot of Steemit groups where new and some not-so-new Steemians will be happy to check out your content and help you out a bit. @michelnilles runs the one I mentioned in the heading of this section, and he's a great food blogger and photographer, plus he has helped me and a lot of newbies gain a bit of traction to start.

Reddit Subreddits

Since the social network that appears most similar to Steemit is of course, Reddit, it makes sense to turn their for some attention. Yes, there is a Steemit Sub (https://www.reddit.com/r/steemit/), but they mostly want posts that are related to Steem, Steemit, and other crypto. I see some posts on other topics all the time, so it's up to you to do what you think is right.

If you're not writing about Steem and related topics, you might try other subs with non-spammy links to your posts. The problem is that many people won't be Steemit members yet, but you might also help the community and draw in more members.

Twitter With the Right Tags

You might start out by following some of the Steemit-related accounts, including of course https://twitter.com/steemit. Using tags like #Steemit can help too.

Your website and Other Platforms

Do you regularly participate in forums, groups, or even have your own site? Again, you risk reaching a lot of people who aren't yet Steemit members, but if you can bring them in, you can start to build your own community and loyal following. I've brought in a few new Steem members through my online connections, and of course, we follow each other and try to help each other out when we can.

Paying for Votes

I'm not getting into the pros and cons of paying for votes. Before you can do that, you will need some SBD or Steem to pay in the first place. In my opinion, you can choose to pay or not pay, but you should look at it like paying for other promotions and make sure you can make a good ROI on your investment.

Before you pay for votes, check out this website: http://www.steembottracker.com/

You will see most, but not all, of the big services offered, and you can learn more about how they work and IF they will work for your business.

Comment on Interesting Posts

They say that no man is an island, and of course, neither is any Steemian. One of the best ways to attract a few votes to start is to make thoughtful and helpful cmments on other people's votes. You may not be popular yet, but you can piggyback a bit on others by providing more value to their posts.

Don't spam your comments. Write them so it's obvious that you read at least some of the post and have something interesting to add. That means you should start following other Steemians who write posts that are likely to interest you. Other advice like this suggests only following popular people, but I'd say to follow people who interest you and are likely to interact with you.

Do You Have Questions or Tips to Gain Traction on Steemit?

I think I've done modestly well on Steemit for only being a member for a few week. Like others, I wish I had started earlier. But you know what they say:

The best time would have been a year ago, but the second-best time is TODAY!

Since you got this far, here is a picture of a cute puppy.....

By the way, did you know that I almost always UPVOTE and Comment upon sensible comments?

Sort:  

What do you think about doing a youtube video about your post? That way you have video content for your steemit post and you can have the video on youtube to build a following there as well.

You know, I think that's a really good idea. It would be smart to upload it to Youtube and Dtube, I think. I'm not really experienced with making videos, but it might not cost that much to send a script to somebody on Fiverr to get it done. How do you make videos?

This is a good link on how to make videos https://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-YouTube-Video .
It goes into detail but all you really need is a webcam to record your thoughts, save, and upload on youtube. Youtube makes it pretty easy to upload videos.

I'm always weary of paying for upvotes. I give them x amount of money and in turn they upvote me for $3? I can see the benefits of doing it but I'm not so trusting of doing that.

That's why I suggest using this website. It will help you see exactly what you are getting.

Steem Bot Tracker: http://steembottracker.com/

Oops. I thought the r/steemit sub was for any post. Probably not a good idea to throw up my links to my Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space pages... Thanks for the info!

Lots of people put other topics up there. At one point, I did too, but I got a comment from one of the mods that suggested I not do that. Hey, do what you please. I'd be happy to read your lesbian zombies from outer space posts, personally. :)

Awesome! The first pages are up here: https://steemit.com/comics/@jpgaltmiller/lesbian-zombies-from-outer-space-horror-comedy-graphic-novel-pages-1-3

I will say that I posted a specific question about steemit on r/steemit, and I got some fairly quick responses. So far, not much reaction to the comics link from that particular sub. I'll probably back off on it for now.

Wow, I thought you were kidding about that. Those are certainly different than the comics I remember as a child. :) Hopefully, when Steemit emphasizes communities more it will be easier to find groups of people with the same interests.

Thank you very much @theinsideout. Since I am in steemit I read and publish and I realize that I do not win many comments and few votes in favor. So your contribution has given me great enthusiasm. Follow the successes!

To make people think you read the article - or at least part of it - you really need to discuss some point of it. For instance, what have you tried to do to increase the number of votes. Have you tried to bring in people from the outside, interact with other members, etc.?

What about actually making an interesting blog post?

Oh, sharp! Or you could just self-vote your own posts with your massive power, right?

Maybe you'd like my post on train grafitti. I got some positive feedback, but sadly, my own puny self vote is only worth .05. :(

https://steemit.com/photography/@theinsideout/things-you-never-knew-you-wanted-to-know-about-frieght-train-graffiti

Or you could just self-vote your own posts with your massive power, right?

My power is used predominantly to benefit the community :)

http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=justtryme90&days=90

Over the past 90 days I've voted on almost 1500 different users (not 1500 posts, users, some of which I have voted many times as I think their content quality is good).

Though I have self voted 3% of that power.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 25.69% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68