Sharing Some Things About Me! My Inner Blocks! Join Inner Blocks Discord Channel. Share Your Inner Blocks!

in #promote5 years ago

We all have a story, I guess you could call it our inner blocks, which makes us the person we are today. Every one of us has a different way we grew up. Some of us had parents they worked hard and made great money and we wanted for nothing because our parents could get the things we wanted. Some of us had parents that worked hard and lived paycheck to paycheck and hope nothing happened because there was no money to fall back on if it did.

Like most of us, I was one of the paycheck to paycheck kids. We had the paper routes or cut grass after school and during summer break to get some of the things we wanted and to help our parents out when they needed it, although our parents might not have liked it, it was needed to help out with whatever was needed at the time.

Here are some of my "Inner Blocks"! I grew up wanted to learn everything I could to not be a paycheck to paycheck person, I wanted to have the things I wanted and for my family to have what they wanted. So during the summer, I would talk to contractors from different trades, framing, electrical, plumbing, and concrete contractors. I would work for them and learn everything I could about that trade. I did this for 4 years while in high school, I learned as much as I could during that time, I was a jack of all trades but master of none of them. I had the basics of each trade but like doing electrical the best, so worked harder at that.

After I graduated high school I went into the military and learned some more about the construction trade, as I became a combat engineer, learning how to operate equipment and also how to drive a truck as we had to haul the equipment around on lowboys and 20 ton tractors and also hauling dirt with 20 ton dump trucks. I did that for 8 years and got out of the service to make my way doing this in civilian life. I got back in the military in 2007 and did six more years and got deployed to Iraq in 2008, got out of the military in 2013 because of medical, as I was non-deployable because of having a knee replacement for service-connected injuries.

I worked at all those trades learning as I went and got my CDL-A license and drove a truck for a while OTR and dump trucks. I made some good money along the way and had some nice things for a while. I had a little money in savings and life was great until I had to have the knee replacement and it went downhill fast. It was a hard struggle and I made a decision to move on to other things and needed something different from life at that point.

I said all this to say that, learning all those trades paid off in the long run as I moved to some raw land and started building a new life and those lessons from my grandfather as a kid in the garden and with animals is paying off also. Those ideas and learning those trades paid off in the long run, because everything we do in life has a reason. It is helping me do what I need to do now in my life.

In life, we are all cut from a different cloth and we all have a route to go down in our everyday lives. It might be a hard row to hoe or it can be life on easy street. There is a purpose for us all and it may not be what we wanted or we choose but it is ours and as we say in the military "embrace the suck" and move forward. I guess I was meant to be a paycheck to paycheck person in my life and I will make the best of it and enjoy life, whatever it throws at me.

There will be more "Inner Blocks" to come so follow my blog and enjoy as I share my "Inner Blocks" of my life. Building myself one block at a time. Share some of your "Inner Blocks with everyone so we can get to know you and we can make friends and learn from each other as we go about our lives.

Join the Inner Blocks discord. https://discord.gg/zSYVrem

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem


Photo From Pinterest.Com


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

!
TIBLogo

Sort:  

Great post. Thanks for sharing! It's nice to get to know the people in the community on a more personal level. Keep it up!

Thanks! Hoping more people in the community will share a little about themselves.

That is amazing. You have a pretty great story. Thank you for sharing your inner blocks. We are all individuals that live our lives everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94