THE NEW MOTTO IN MY COMMUNITY

in #promosteem6 years ago

Isaac sent me a text message yesterday evening asking me if i had got the latest gossip in town. Isaac Tesaga is a colleague we schooled with back at the University. I told him I had got nothing new yet. And he broke the news to me; Jarau had withdrawn 1.6m Shillings from steemit, then followed it with this image he sent on my whatsapp.

IMG-20180108-WA0001.jpg
Jarau's phone

Yes, that is Jarau's phone. Jarau Moses is also a collegue from the same University where we were with Isaac. Beyonic Uganda as you see in the image, is a mobile payment provider used to digitalize payments.
Jarau had actually withdrawn 1.6million Uganda Shillings from steemit through Beyonic Uganda. I immediately called Jarau and he confirmed this when I saw the text on he's phone. This was unbelievable, i technically froze after confirming it.

For those who don't know what 1.6m shillings is worth here in Uganda, well this amount can get you a plot of land, it can start lots of businesses like a shop, an investment in farming, lots of stuff guys. All this from posting on Steemit.

Screenshot_2018-01-10-10-04-14.png
Jarau posing with friends he had talked to about steemit

This is a guy who recently quit he's I.T job with which he had to work for ten months to get the same amount he has got in one month. Guys this deserves a huge round of applause from every African out there. Its a lot worth a special page in a newspaper.

Change at that moment was inevitable for me after witnessing this, that it would be stupid for me to sit back.
I couldn't help but think of how huge this would transform my community back home in Takajjunge, with lots of youth that have graduated and have no clue on the next step after failing to get employment. So Immediately I reached home, I laid out a plan of driving Steemit deeper into the community.
This new program I had would start with the printing of steemit products. So I contacted Ivan, an artist within the area and we linked up today morning at he's workshop to work on steemit tshirts.

IMG_20180110_081005.jpg
Ivan working on a sample tshirt
IMG_20180110_081032.jpg
A sample tshirt. Ofcourse it requires a lot of improvenent

Ivan himself couldnt wait to sign up when I explained what steemit had done for my friend Jarau, and I helped him with signing up.

Steemit is becoming the new motto in my community. And the campaign i've embarked on is going to start with fifty steemit tshirts. With my target being two hundred steem products.

The youth in my suburb had resorted to gambling, taking drugs, and commiting crime as well. All this as a result of growing frustrated with unemployment yet they have the transcripts. Steemit is a campaign that is going to positively transform these youth, as I get it to reach every single one of them.

Steemit is the answer to we the youth in Africa, lets embrace it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90