"PROMO-MENTORS WRITING CHALLENGE: I HAD A NICE TIME WITH NONSO TODAY"

A man I worked under before gaining admission to study in the university once told me that one important thing every man should learn to do is not to keep friends and family too far away or neglect them no matter how busy you are.

It occurred to me that I have been far away from a childhood friend. Nonso can pass for a brother. We attended same primary and secondary schools. During those early days, we usually share same seat, study together and undertake adventures together. What made us to be slightly apart from each other is because we got admission to study in two different universities. But is that supposed to be an excuse really? Well, I asked this rhetorical question because we both live in the same town of Enugu, here in Nigeria. Our schools are located in the same town. So today I visited Nonso in his Hostel.

I called him that I was coming. He's surprised and excited at the same time. I could tell from his shaky voice over the phone.

We had a lot of fun. We discussed the early days. Our adventures, progress in academics and even plans for the future. It was a blissful experience for me. When we were done with the chit-chat, he showed me some interesting movies. I'm not cut out for movies though; I rarely watch movies. But I must confess I relished watching these ones. I watched the popular Black Panther and also Queen of Katwe. We watched them with his laptop. They are nice movies. Nonso's presence made me enjoy them more

image

Immediately after the movie, he took me to their penthouse. They have crude gym and weightlifting tools which they manufactured from iron plates and bars. He told me I need to exercise my body that my muscles are becoming flabby. Lol. So I joined him to lift and twist those iron plates. It was fun. Why? I am not used to lifting heavy objects. I didn't believe I would lift them initially. I was so happy doing so. In my mind, I was already a weightlifter. Lol

image
That's me. Lol.

image
This is Nonso

It was a very fun-filled moment for me. I savoured every moment I spent with him.

We wanted to watch France vs Peru World cup together. I got a message that we are to have a fixed lecture in an hour time. I had to leave. I promised him that I would visit again. He said

Nah! It's my turn to do so. I'm coming over next week and I am spending the weekend.

"And that would be my pleasure", I said smilingly.

image

Pardon the poor picture qualities. It's from the camera.

Thanks for stopping by

I am @winningman

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67