My PromoMentors-Challenge

in #promomentors-challenge7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, I stumbled on this contest post by @futherthinker this evening and I'm sure it's gonna be super great to read every participant's most memorable experience in other to learn a lesson or two from their experiences.
Allow me take you down my 17 years memory lane...

Most Memorable Experience
Life generally is a compound. Full of different mixtures of experiences.
If I had my way, I could have chosen who I wanted as my father. But they say;

You cannot choose which family to be born into neither can you choose your parents.

I grew up with my mom without the love and care of a father. I didn't get to understand what it meant till I clocked 3 years old when my cerebrum was programmed to asking questions like, why did my father abandon me at birth? Why did he hate me so much? Why did he treat me like an half caste? Was I a cursed child? All of these questions kept lingering in my mind and I needed answers.
IMG_20180226_205646_682.JPG
Image Source

One day, I decided to visit my father's elder brother for a long vacation. I was happy identifying with my paternal cousins. There was so much love and care rendered on me. I felt a 50% of relief in my mind that I was welcomed and accepted by my father's elder brother. The feeling was nice until 1 day, my uncle decided to call my father to come over to his house. He came, they talked and finally, I was called to come meet my dad for the 1st time since I was born. I was happy but more happier when my uncle asked me to go pack my bags that I was following my dad for the weekend in his house. I didn't mind the fact that he was married and had a son whom may not welcome me to his house.

Little did I know life was in deed a step up...
My dad took me to his house on that faithful Friday evening. Everything seemed fine until Saturday morning, when my dad woke me up to bath by myself and dress. When I was done, I awaited the compulsory morning breakfast like my mom will serve me, but I waited and waited and didn't see my breakfast served. I spotted my dad, his wife and son eating at the dining and I felt bad because my mom will never keep me starving and eat her breakfast. We all got into the car and zoom, we were on our way to an unknown destination. Finally we alighted at somewhere that seemed to be a prayer house. Decorated with purple and red materials.
The decoration wasn't the problem, the prophetess who came out was dressed on white garment with a red head cover. She looked scary to me. I was taken into what they called "inner room" for prayers by the Prophetess, step mother and mother in-law while my dad waited outside the building because the inner room was not meant for boys or men to go into according to the prophetess.

The only thing I heard the prophetess said to me was,

repeat after me, I'm a witch! I'm a witch!! I'm a witch!!!

I refused to claim what I wasn't and I was beaten mercilessly by my step mother because of that. I was taken to my dad and he was lied to that the prophetess exposed me to be a witch who has come to destroy his marriage and finance.
When we got home, my dad packed my bag to return me to his brother's house where he had picked me but delayed so his wife could serve me lunch being the only food I would eat in his house. She served me rice as lunch but I wasn't in an hurry to eat because I was reflecting on what happened earlier that day. Their 3 years old son came and ate my food before my very eyes and I became more sadder than I was.

My dad returned me later that Saturday back to his brother's house. When he was trying to explain to his brother his reason for returning me, he answered a call from his wife telling him that their son was in a state of convulsion he should come and drive them to the hospital. Before his arrival, the boy had given up his last breath. Hmph! We got the news he died from food poisoning but it was likened to a spiritual attack and all fingers were pointed at me as the WITCH who killed their son.

This is was the very last time I was in communication with my dad.
I could had been the one who ate the poisonous food and died but God kept me alive for myself and for my mother and to share this experience with the community.
IMG_20180226_205527_877.JPG
Happy me!

Coincidentally, my date of entry falls on my remembrance day 26th Feb. Allow me celebrate today. Happy Remembrance Day to me!

Thanks to the organizers of this contest @futurethinker and @promo-mentors. Much love.

Sort:  

That's crazy that you would be blamed like that and I hope that those people who accused you of such find their way out of such ignorance. You look like you are doing well in your picture and I hope that the experience from your childhood hasn't imprinted on you too strongly. I never knew my father, which is why your story resonated with me so much. Thanks for sharing your story.

It so sad to hear you didn't know your dad. So sorry sir. Yes, I am doing well because I let go of the anger I had for many years to God to settle. I'm well now for myself and mother.

Wow, sorry to hear this. A child should be protected by their father. Sorry this happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84