My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge..... "Stay humble"

IMG_20180305_151507_385.jpg
Ever since I knew myself, I had always been a Singer; either in the school or church choir..
I don't wanna seem like I'm bragging but really.. People tell me awesome things about how good my voice sounds...

Because of this(being a Singer), I was very vast with songs. I listened to songs almost all the time so unconsciously, my head became like a music library(lol).
I felt like I knew so many songs, and even if I didn't know it... I could learn it in no time..

Now, before I go on stage to sing. Usually, I'm expected to have scored(learnt) the song such that I know the solos and adlips or whatever part I want to take...

Over the years, I became so good. So somehow, I stopped scoring songs..
When I'm told to do a song, I just listen to it one or two times and do my normal freestyle then I'm good to go..
And yeah, I always killed the song.. As in, I always did the song pretty good...
I had actually become so proud too and very confident...
So when people tried to advice me to learn or score my song... I just didn't pay attention anymore....
Afterall, I always got results...
So it didn't matter whether or not I scored the songs... In pidgin "over-confidence dey worry me"
IMG_20180305_151529_233.jpg

But then something happened...
It was a Thanksgiving Sunday, my pastor had specifically asked for me to do that song for him just before he came up on stage...
And in my normal way, I got the song... Strangely, it was a new release so I had never heard it before...
Well, in my mind.. I thought j had scored the song and was good to go....

So Sunday morning came... Everyone was anticipating the great "Eniola" @kigernie to come do the song and get everyone slain in the spirit.
IMG_20180305_151552_480.jpg

Lo and behold, after the choir did their chorus and it was time for my solo...
I became totally blank...
I was just looking at people while the instrumentation kept on playing....
I didn't even know any adlip to fill the empty space...
I just starred at the microphone in silence..
It was as though the ground should open up and swallow me....
My pastor looked at me with so much disappointment on his face....
My music director, the choir and the whole church looked at me with so much shock...
Gosh....
Screenshot_20180305-150922.png

Well... This happened for about 2-3minutes until the pastor had to come up on stage and save me from the shame... He had to do the song himself (even with his husky voice)...
And the other people who had always "advised" me to score my songs used that as an avenue to mock me...
Kai...

That experience made me feel so ashamed of myself.
But it taught me an important lesson...

No matter what it is I'm to do.
Whether to sing, write an exam, go for an interview...
I always rehearse/prepare well before doing the main thing so as to avoid any embarrassing situations...

Ever since that day, trust me..
I've been humbled..
No matter how simple the song is or no matter how much I know the song...
I still take out time to score it like I've never heard it before...

Somehow, the experience changed my attitude towards personal rehearsals and also taught me humility in all ramifications....

Lesson: #stay humble.... #don't get lazy...

Sort:  

I couldn't help but laugh at you 😂 so funny

😭😭😭....
Chei...

Anytime I remember, I still feel a little embarrassed sef..... Lolz

Great lesson you have learnt @Kingernie, we all are guilty of pride at some point but humility pays. Also, nothing can replace hardwork, HARDWORK would beat talent if talent goes to sleep. Keep singing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kingernie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81