My Promo-Mentors "Go Beyond" Challenge By @futurethinker: "Helping The Needy"

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

jaj the philantropist.JPG
A PICTURE OF ME HELPING THE NEEDY

Special thanks to @futurethinker and @evecab for coming up with this beautiful and rewarding challenge, I say more grease to your elbows.

To the topic of the day, I can remember in 2015 when I was serving as a youth Corps member in Zamfara state, a Northern region which falls under the Hausa tribe of Nigeria where the people are predominantly Muslims, farmers and a large number of their children are illiterate and most of the people live in abject poverty.

On this particular day while I was on my way home from work, I came across 10 children who were begging to eat, if you saw them on this fateful day, you would agree with me that they were yet to eat for over 36 hours (that's a day and half) because they looked tattered, tired, helpless, restless and above all, extremely famished.

The last money I had on me that day was 1000 Nigerian Dollar. A part of me never wanted to path away with the money because that was the last dime I had on me and to make things worse, the Federal Government was yet to pay my allowance and if I should give out that money, I'd have to depend on my roommate until I received my allowance.

I decided to give them the money as I had decided that I was ready to face the consequences of my actions and even go hungry if need be but I was convinced I was doing the right thing because "Givers Never Lack". I told them to share it 100 Naira Nigerian dollar each. A part of me was happy that I was able to feed the needy while another part of me was sad that I had no money on me and that day, I trekked home which was about 4 kilometers from work 😢 😢 😢 .

When I got home and narrated the scenario to my roommate, he said I did the right thing and promised to help me in his own little way, but to my utmost surprise, I received an alert of 10,000 Nigerian dollar from a friend who had been owing me over a year ago.

The next question I asked myself was, why was it the day I did something good that my debtor decided to remember me?. From that day onward, I started believing in the adage that says, Givers Never Lack.

Sort:  

Good post, request you to follow me and upvote please. I am also following and upvoting you.
Thank you
https://steemit.com/@yousufpatan

that's a very nice gesture, @jajdgenius!!!! =) Thank you for participating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43