"My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge"- Just Before I Joined Steemit

in #promomentors-challenge7 years ago (edited)

Experience is the best teacher

I totally disagree with the above assertion, I believe experience is a teacher not the best.

money-941228__480.jpg
Image Source

My Most Memorable Experience

Some events occur in our lives and we just wish we didn't wake up that day.

Such was my wish, as I vividly remember, it was the first week of November last year, my brother @ifioklee had just told me about steemit when stach #project20millionNaija campaign had come to my state, and my school academic staff had just called off a long strike, I had typed my research work on my phone with the aim of printing out when the strike eventually gets called off but I never knew such was not to be the case.



A day in November, on that fateful day, in the early hours of a relatively humid afternoon, I had set out to a bus station to receive some food items a friend had sent to me through her brother, with so much joy I had left the house knowing that on my return I would be able to prepare for myself a sumptuous lunch and dinner as I had already exhausted the food items I bought for the month. So in a bid to get to the bus station and meet up with the person I was supposed to get the food items from, I boarded a tricycle which had just two passengers in it, subsequently as we headed for the park, some individuals joined while the others highlighted, just some few meters from approaching the park, just myself and a half caste young man, well suited up wit short locks were left in the tricycle along side the tricycle rider. As fate would have it we were just about to taking a last turn before getting to the park when the tricycle rider noticed there had been an ambush on the road, with a white tinted windscreen hilux parked in the center of the road with four heavily armed men and three unarmed men on the road, the tricycle tried to make a u-turn to evade them, but the tricycle failed us as it feel to it side, leaving us a few meters to the road side gutter. Our tricycle was spotted and this men drew closer to us and the the next thing I heard was the sound of a slap on the tricycle rider's cheek, then I saw the men going towards the young man who was in the tricycle with me, he was dragged out of the tricycle, his bag was taken away from him and when I was opened, I could see through, I contained various kinds of currency, I became startled, I successfully pulled myself out of the tricycle just before I noticed my phone was gone, I looked around and saw my phone in the hands of one of those unarmed guys, I summoned courage, ran towards him and held him, demanded for my phone, he didn't respond, in slight seconds, I felt the weight of a gun hit against my arm, just that instant, I let go himself I noticed the other armed guys were coming back to the hilux and one of them had gotten me while passing, they shot in the air, got into the hilux and zoomed away.

DQmevHD1ZLA5DKtPiMr25WAZvv5d9DUa9Xs4vpNrpzfNxLV.gif

Reality had done on me, I stood there still startled, just then I came to understand that I had been a victim of a accident and a robbery, both at once, I had never been a victim of such, through out my four year stay in the state, my phone had never left my custody with my jurisdiction by force, I decided to walk to my brother's place, I met him at home and told him about everything, he consoled me, at that point I though of my research project materials, where was I supposed to start from as well as steemit my brother had told me about, how was I supposed to go about it.

The day gradually came to an end, I got over it and life continued, with me off the internet, I had to use anyone's phone I came in contact with to source out materials for my research project and also make calls, it became a part of me: it was my black november.



Image Source


Days eventually turned into weeks and I decide to go see my brother, we talked and he urged me to get serious with steemit and I could get enough money to get myself a phone in the shortest possible time, I hearkened to his advice, got logged on on a friend's device and constantly bugged her to use her device to blog since she wasnt interested in steemit as at the time, and so as fate would have it, in the shortest possible time, specifically December 20th, I had gotten enough money to buy a phone.

DQmevHD1ZLA5DKtPiMr25WAZvv5d9DUa9Xs4vpNrpzfNxLV.gif


**What I Learnt From This Experience**

I learnt specifically two things from this particular experience, I will note them down in points.
•Life doesn't get easier; it only makes you harder

when life gives you lemons; make lemonade

I would have given up on my academics, my project writing, on steemit, I could have choose to get depressed and probably commit suicide just to ease the pains I felt, but I chose not to but to rather make the best of the situation.

•Never Quit

Age wrinkles the body
Quitting wrinkles the soul

So never quit!!

I appreciate you @futurethinker and @promo-mentors for this wonderful challenge, memories are very precious.

I am a member and I support @promo-mentors.

DQmcN2oVGdrmfBpxJC5LLhs68jY8QRS9oCjsSzWnH25cB78 (1).gif

Sort:  

Follow me for upvotes | Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 SBD and the URL in the memo to use the bot for a resteem and to get over 5 upvots

Nice one @gidionline
UNcle Gidi, see your boy here o
I see we're in for the same contest
Goodluck sir
Check out my entry Sir
https://steemit.com/promomentors-challenge/@verbose-jimmy/my-promo-mentors-writing-challenge

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gidionline from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I still think experience is the best teacher sha 😁

Giving up should never be an option, we become better when we do not give up.
Everything great has a price, if you pay the price right, expect the reward when you don't give up.
I am really glad you took my advice and didn't give up, better days ahead.
Cheers!

Thank you for your entry @gidionline!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46