You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Promo-Mentors Challenge: When Four Generations Gathered Together

This is a very touching post Connie!

I think it's wonderful how you engage in sending your grandparents a message of love and compassion.

But I will also honestly say, that I find it almost sad to see the dominance of a certain religious figure in the context, does Jesus really matter when it's about opening our hearts to ourselves, our kin and the world at large?

Sort:  

Hey @fraenk. Sorry for my super late reply. Got caught up with some family matters and weddings for two consecutive weekends, last weekend and this coming weekend. Always appreciate you dropping by :)

I'm sorry if I made you feel I imposed any religious view on anyone in this post. I didn't mean to, but only to express my personal worldview. It is okay if you don't agree with me :) I don't mean to convert anyone including my own family members if they aren't willing. I was offering peace and my faith or belief as something for them to try in having peace in their emotional turmoils. My family has been trying different methods including Buddhist meditations and aromatherapy and all actually. So when my mom was clueless about what else she could do and asked me, I suggested what I believe in after they have tried many other methods. Jesus is One who is real to me, and I chose Him after "trying" Him for 17 years, thus He is more than a religious figure to me. I respect if you or anyone else do not have the same worldview. This trip was memorable to me not just because of me sharing my faith and they obviously know I would do that because I told my mom beforehand, but also because I brought my son to meet them. So yes it has opened our hearts to my family and kin. As for the world at large, since everyone is talking about respecting each other's religions unless both parties agree to take interest, I don't think any religious view can be forced upon. Hopefully you didn't find this post or this reply offensive to you. I'm sorry if it did.

Cheers and good day!

Oh no, don't get me wrong now... or maybe I misunderstood the subtext in the orinial post to begin with?!

No, what I meant is, that it felt like the role of Jesus in this was like an obstacle between you and your family there. My interpretation was not about the imposition of any faith in particular but more about the divisiveness that i (maybe wrongfully?) interpreted.

Your lengthy comment and some re-reading of the post does change my impressions about the situation a little bit.

So if anyone needs to be sorry about offensiveness... that would be me!

One Love!

Oh haha we cancel off all the sorr-ies. Haha maybe I 'misled' you cos was not too clear in the post. I wasn't offended, I thought you were. What a misunderstanding! Oops!!!! One love And I always appreciate your friendship!

Nobody offended... everything hunky dory... high-five :D

Oh yeah, high-5! All good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86