You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does steemit need a referral reward system? Recruit a Friend to steemit - CONTEST PROPOSAL?

in #promo-uk7 years ago

I don't think recruiting is any problem, the main problem is how can I encourage the friends I brought in to be active.
In the past few days I invited my two brothers and two of my friends.
My brothers just joined and got back to their telegram, Instagram routine because their friends are there.
one of my friend joined and didn't save his keys, now he is locked out of his account and can't do anything. He just can't comprehend why can't he recover his password.
The other one seen that and just moved on.
I think the problem is the user layer of steemit is a bit too complicated for those who come from outside of crypto currency community. they don't understand the whole idea and the fear of doing something wrong and mess everything just freezes them in place.

Sort:  

Yup. It isn't the number, the quality of users.

Excellent points. I've had similar experiences with many of my friends that I have recruited. I've found that the ones that stick around are the ones who I constantly encourage and "hand-hold". Recruiting is a lot more than just getting them to sign up!

Yes mentoring and hand holding would be all important. To encourage this I would perhap make the bigger prizes kick in on the +3 months retention numbers. We don't just want zero-day signups we want long term active users.

The apparent complexity of steemit can be rather a shock to the system for anyone coming from one of the slick, well-oiled and simplified mainstream social platforms.

Anyone you bring to the platform does need a lot of handholding to keep them going.

I have introduced two people to steemit now. One is persevering and getting into it. The other has fallen off after a few posts and may be tricky to win back.

A full-on buddy or mentoring system might help with retention.

The no password-recovery bit of steemit is a particularly hard story to sell to a non-believer 😞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43