7th Cebu Steemit Blogger's Meet-up: The Numbers are Overwhelming!

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180204_215502.jpg

Hello Steemians!

Power! The introvert side of me was screaming yesterday. As I am borderline introvert, properly described as ambivert, I was overwhelmed by the number of steemians who attended the 7th Cebu Steemit Blogger's Meet Up at Marisse Patisserie. As I had to mingle both old friends and new, I had to release all the reserved energy that I had in me. I had a great laugh while I was in the venue that I had to sit down and catch my breath from time to time.

2018-02-05 12.05.40 1.jpg
@xaydtrips, @jeebee0331, @imyourshyness, and @ivanafrey24. I can vouch for them because I've known them personally. Please watch out for their posts.

It was my 2nd meet up and I was stunned by the growth of the Cebu community, specially when everyone was gathered to have a photo session. I also had some invites and I hope that they had a great time as I did. I'll insert it here; please follow these budding authors: @xaydtrips, @jeebee0331, @iamyourshyness, and @ivanafrey24 (she's still to be confirmed). Okay, so much of me. Let's have the run-through of that amazing event.

The Venue

2018-02-04 08.03.22 1.jpg

Marisse Patisserie is located at 32 Sanson Road, Lahug, Cebu City. They have one of the best cakes and confectioneries in Cebu. The place is fancy just like Dolce, the venue of the last meet up. I'm always amazed by the organizers who never disappoint when it comes to venues.

2018-02-05 12.05.37 1.jpg
SUCCULENTS! The fact that they have succulents as their centerpieces, I am now biased towards that place.

The interiors are painted with pastel colors with cream white and blueish green as dominant colors. The swimming pool outside added a fancy vibe as a backdrop which can be seen through the glass panels.

2018-02-05 12.05.47 1.jpg
THE INTERIORS. It's an eye candy!

So much with the description of the venue; you just have to visit the place. I highly recommend it!

2018-02-05 12.05.46 1.jpg
THAT FAMED SWIMMING POOL. You're not allowed to swim though.

The Event Prior


From Ayala, @thegaillery, @ivanafrey24, and me rode a taxi to Marisse Patisserie since we have no idea where it is located. We arrived at the venue at around 1:15 PM. I was shocked that the place had lots of people already. I thought the place was really jam-packed as it was Sunday, but I was surprised that majority of them were steemians!

received_2066016530085082.jpeg
Feel free to find your faces. Haha.

There was a registration at one table; we just have to type our steemit username and our Facebook account name. After the registration, I immediately mingled with new-found friends in steemit. I saw frequent and familiar faces; that's ordinary. What caught me off-guard were the number of new and unfamiliar faces. I think that almost half of those who went the meet up were newbies. The good thing about it was that they were so eager to learn more about steemit.

2018-02-05 12.05.44 1.jpg
Happy faces everywhere!

I also had a great time with my core group before the event properly started. The likes of @honeyletsgo (who was just curied recently), @thegaillery, @thisisruby, @themanualbot, @babybear, @xaydtrips, @jeebee0331, and @imyourshyness really made my day!

2018-02-05 12.05.34 1.jpg
My other set of family.

Aside from my core group, there are others worth mentioning as I had a great time chatting with them as well. These people are also worth following as they are growing in the community. The likes of @josejirafa, @maimaimaichan, @thefairlady, @pizzanniza, @julsmlz (another curied author last week), and @jenesa are so awesome that I had a hard time keeping up.

received_2066016443418424.jpeg
Overflowing groupies!

Special mention are the likes of @jassennessaj, @ninyea, @itinerantph, and @joancabz for properly organizing the event. Surely, the next will not be a meet up, but a convention in a bigger venue. This is because the numbers are exponentially increasing and Marisse Patisserie was filled yesterday that my workmate who happened to visit the venue with his family prompted to transfer to another cafe.

received_2066016590085076.jpeg
PHOTOSHOOT PA MORE! I love this photo!

The Event Proper


After the meeting of the core leaders of @steemph.cebu, they decided to split the crowd into 3 separate groups. One group was composed of newbies or interested individuals who haven't registered yet, but are so eager to learn about steemit. They were handled by @ninyea and @bellatravelph. The other group was for active steemians who wished to navigate more in the platform and wanted to maximize their steemit experience and realize their fullest potential. They were lead by @themanualbot and @jassennessaj.

2018-02-05 12.04.43 1.jpg
@jassennessaj discussing steemit-related topics to active steemians.

The third and special group was handled by @smaeunabs and company. This group tackled on financial literacy and maximizing your earnings in steemit. I wanted to join this group as I was really interested about the topic, but I had to transfer from one group to another. I just requested @smaeunabs to send me the slides used in her session.

2018-02-05 12.05.30 1.jpg
@smaeunabs discussing financial literacy.

Assisting every steemians and accommodating every concerns were @fernwehninja and @itinerantph.

2018-02-05 12.05.24 1.jpg
@ninyea and @bellatravelph, discussing what steemit is all about to newbies.

I never really had a particular agenda in mind when I decided to join that meet up. I just wanted to enjoy the company of my fellow steemians. Most of the time, I just jumped from one group to another. But while @themanualbot was speaking, he called me to share some insights on how to get curied. I never thought that I would be able to speak in front of that number of people. As an introvert and a socially-awkward person, it was a different kind of experience for me. I mustered all my energy and strength to speak because I don't want to disappoint. Hopefully, I was able to deliver it well and many steemians from Cebu will get curied! Steem on!

received_2066016420085093.jpeg
The master @themanualbot was at the side, judging every word I say. 😂

The After Dinner


After the event proper, it was decided to have a dinner courtesy of the sensei @themanualbot. I had another great time at SM because of the free food and the free laugh due to @honeyletsgo's antics. To my core group, you guys were awesome!

received_2066016570085078.jpeg
THAT BUSOG MUCH FACES. Thank you @themanualbot and @babybear for that free dinner!

Wish you were with us @xaydtrips, @legendarryll, @faithvarron, @wandergirl, @brokemancode, @thisisruby, and @reewritesthings! See you next time!

Final Gratitude


To the core leaders of @steemph.cebu, I would like to express my deepest gratitude to all of you. Because of your leadership, Cebu has been very active and we can't deny that because the numbers are really showing everything!

A big shoutout to @themanualbot, @jassennessaj, @ninyea, @itinerantph, @fernwehninja, @queenjventurer, @joancabz, @mikekenleytungal, and @purepinay!

To all who were not mentioned, you were awesome as always! Feel free to comment below for your name to be included. I apologize for my human incapacity. 😂

received_2066016523418416.jpeg

Until the next meet up,
Kim, @ybanezkim26


Thank you @honeyletsgo for some of the photos! Congratulations on your first curie!


Here other photos worth sharing:

2018-02-05 12.05.25 2.jpg

received_2066016426751759.jpeg

received_2066016550085080.jpeg

2018-02-05 12.05.27 2.jpg

2018-02-05 12.05.36 1.jpg

2018-02-05 12.05.38 1.jpg

2018-02-05 12.05.45 1.jpg

If you wish to use these photos in your posts, you have all the freedom to do so. 😉

Sort:  

aweeee <3 look how happy we are in the pictures. I really love this community and how it outgrow like this. :)

Happy kaayo ta girl kay tungod na nimo. Hahaha

We didnt have much time para magtabi coz I was engulfed in ate @smaeunabs' talk. You were buay helping them get their first curie haha but you should definitely listen to her talk abput financial literacy tgether with @jcvertucio and @namranna. Sunod napod nya.

Hoping for coffee and great talks soon with you guys (in a less crowded area so my thoughts could work)

P.S. was drained by the number of people yesterday also haha. Had to isolate myself for a short while to recover.

PPS. Im planning to do something grand with you guys. Kanang widescale kaayo ba haha a d adjunct to @steemph.cebu. Hope to really talk with you soon.

Yay! I'm excited! Please plan a small talk, preferrably on weekends. Not this Saturday, cause I have work. I'm fine with other weekends on a less crowded cafe. See you!

Regarding @smaeunabs' financial literacy, I already requested for the slides. I'll just study them and maybe schedule a session with her. If she permits, of course.

Sige2. Dili pako makahunat coz education first haha but yes soon. Tabangan nato si ate @smaeubans in her advocacy. You will surely love it haha. And in terms of moving towards financial freedom, I would like to work together with you. @jcvertucio and @namranna are setting up meetups solely for the purpose of financial literacy and crypto trading. Let's set up a date some time.

Count me in! Just schedule a date and a venue and I'll be there. Charot. Ganahan ko anang financial literacy kay wala ko ana. Naa ko binance account and nipalit ko coins pero lugi pa ko. Haha

Haha lage gyud. Ignoramus pko anang trading. Puhon2 tukod pd ta ug atoang geoup of financial literacy advocates haha. #letsbewhalesinreallife

Looking forward to this meetup. Pwede kamo nalang akong i date ig feb 14? hahahahahaha

Dili ko pwede shiela kay naa koy date. Hahaha. Si @dioncrediblehulk guro, pwede to sha. Hahaha.

Bitaw, pwede ra kay Steemit gyud nagheal sa ako broken heart. ♥

hahahahahahaha maka gunit nagyud kog inverted heart kung siya akong maka date hahaha

hala uy, kinsay nag break sa imong heart, si @kaloyzskie? AHAHAHAHA

Hahaha. Buangon gyud ka Sheila. And no, dili si @kaloyzskie kay love na love ako nun. Dili lang ko ganahan LDR. 😂😂

You just did it well @ybanezkim26! I was surprised that you have been at olango island. Anyways, i am from Tingo. I feel proud everytime when i heard someone visited and amazed by the tourist spots in our place. Thank you for promoting olango!

You're always welcome @momshie85! Thank you for sharing with us your beautiful island. I hope that my description did justice to the actual scenery. Olango Island is one of the islands that I never get tired of visiting.

wish to be there next time. I am near cebu too.

See you soon @cozyrx! It's good know that there a lot of interested steemians.

Do you know when the next Cebu meetup is? It seems like all of the meetups are there! I want to go to one! Salamat po

Due to the attendance last meet up, the core leaders are planning to have the first convention, @nomadicsoul. Meet ups are always organized, almost every month, because Cebu is really growing as a steemit community. There are no fixed dates and venues yet, but I'll keep you posted. I'll keep in touch. See you soon!

ganahan pod ko mu-join. do you guys contact each other thru messenger? or facebook?

Taga asa ka @ellamielle? Naa facebook group ang @steemph.cebu. Didto lang mag.announce ug mga activities.

looks like you guys had fun!

Resoundingly yes! So much fun that I have to recover all the energy that was lost.

That feeling when you missed @ybanezkim26 insights on how to get curied is like ............! WHY O WHY?! Though I'm glad @thegaillery and I had a quick moment outside the toilet room talking about curie HAHAHA!

No worries. You can always contact me if you have something to ask. I'm always openline. Except work hours, of course. Wait, even at work hours. Haha

Ayay! Salamat daan in advance. Pawer kaayo ni siya o!

awesome pictures.. learned a lot from your testimony too!!
"if you think taas na, patas i pa jd!" that line i won't forget.

Hahaha. That line is my mantra when I post something. I got that from @legendarryll, who never failed to amaze with his photography and writing skills. Also, it's a line that would remind me to always put effort in my posts.

I just missed the opportunity to meet you formally yesterday @ybanezkim26! Hihi so interested also about your curie tips. Maybe next time. ✨

I saw you @namranna, but you were busy with your discussion. Don't worry, we'll see each other soon. Excited sad ko sa imong financial tips. Abby always speaks so highly of you.

Hehe, normal ni Abby na magspeak highly sa uban ^_^ Yey! Hope to see you soon pod! I saw you sa meetup but busy pod ka hihihi mauwaw pod ko :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60608.46
ETH 2637.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62