Steemit Promo Talk by @steemph, Meet Up and a Surprise Visit from @surpassinggoogle!

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

image

Yesterday was one of the most amazing moments in my Steemit life. I never thought I would be part of an honorable gathering of Steemians within 2 months of my stay here. But before I rave about this star-studded event, allow me to give you a recap of the main event at the University of the Philippines.


An Event for the Next Generation


The Machine Design Summit held at the University of the Philippines was attended by high school and college students from various schools. There were several activities from morning until evening, including an obstacle course (in the photo below) for their created little machines.

image


One of the highlights of the day was a series of talk from prestigious people such as the team that made the DIWATA-1. This is the Philippines' 1st microsatellite.

image

This made it just the perfect event to promote a revolutionary platform like Steemit!


Steemit Promotion Talk


@steemph made it possible for Steemit to be heard by our young generation here in Metro Manila. @luvabi talked for about an hour about Steemit and the regional teams in the Philippines. Even I was surprised by how fast Steemit is growing in the Philippines. There were also several charitable iniatives that was made possible by Steemit. She also presented actual pages in Steemit and shared known celebrities who have joined like @janicehung and @janmarini.

image


There was a Question and Answer session after the talk. @dreamiely, the crypto expert in the team, joined @luvabi on stage to answer questions from the curious students. A common question raised was: Where does the money come from?. This made me realize that I should also prepare myself for such questions in the future.

image


Blogger Mode On!


In the past, I will attend events and just be a passive watcher but being a Steemian changed all that. I, and the rest of the Steemians present there, were on blogger mode! Most were taking photos in the best angles. I tried to livestream via @dlive but I don't think it turned out well due to the poor internet connection in the area.

image


Steemians in the Flesh


The best thing about this event for me was seeing my fellow Steemians in person. Whenever someone will introduce herself/himself, another would recognize that person due to a memorable post. It was really amazing to see the faces behind the blogs. A common reaction was "Uy kilala kita!" (Hey I know you!).


In the photo below are @itsmechille, @grazz, @monkeypattycake, @dreamiely and her son, @davinsh, @tpkidkai, @stuckinacup, @luvabi and @greymonolith.

image


On of my concerns about the meet up is that it will compromise my anonymity. So I brought a face mask to cover half my face. I felt silly covering my face everytime there was a camera! And I think these photos are now a give away as to who I am.

I am now considering a face reveal. Would you like that?

In the photo below starting from the masked me are @wilbejel, @stuckinacup, @tpkidkai, @luvabi, @dreamiely, @grazz and @monkeypattycake
image



Star Struck!


Just when I thought the best part of day has passed, here comes @surpassinggoogle! Everyone was suddenly so excited. And why not? We know he's a very busy person but he took time to meet us. I think it's so obvious in these photos how star struck I was.

image


I was just in awe because he was so down to earth. He tried to give everyone time. I would expect people of status not to even notice me but he also talked to me and answered my questions. And he did this for everyone.

image


We had dinner and a known celebrity joined the group. @janicehung, her friends and even her manager joined us for dinner. Steemit has apparently caught the attention of media people in the Philippines. Their group was so excited about Steemit and they have big plans for the Philippines.

image


The dinner turned out to be a learning session. I really feel so grateful to be part of it. We would ask @surpassinggoogle questions and he would answer with such depth and sincerity. We couldn't get enough. The restaurant's waiter had to tell us that it's closing time!

image


But there's no stopping the conversations even if they have closed the building.

image

I would like to end this post by giving @monkeypattycake a special thanks for inviting me to this awesome event! Maraming Salamat! After this event, I'm sure that I will be more present physically in the community for every given chance.

image


See you soon, fellow Steemians!

image

Sort:  

Ohmygosh inggit ako to the highest level!!!😭
Ang dami niyo, sana makajoin ako sa susunod. 🙏🙏🙏

I'm sure madami pang events in the future kaya you're not missing out. :)

Haha oo nga! Kwentuhan mo ko later about the talk. And ang galing mo pa rin in maintaining your "online anonimity". 😅👍

I think I'm gonna edit back to original all my photos, It felt like I'm an @he in blurring your face in my post. lol.

hopefully, next time I could stay longer to meet the rest. :)

Ano ba ok lang noh. Ng effort ka nga eh to blur my face kaya I appreciate that. Wag mo na iedit
Mas ok nga un eh :)

When meeting @jassenNnessaj, @manualbot, @itinerantph @ninyea makes my heart flatter, I wonder what I'll feel when I meet @surpassinggoogle!

Wow you're so lucky you have already met a lot of known Filipino Steemians! Maraming pang events for sure :)

Today's our lucky day! Cheers to Steemph!

Hope to meet you soon 😊

Are you in Manila? Hope to meet you too :)

I hope I get to meet you guys soon and also @surpassinggoogle. congrats!

Attend po kayo next time. Lalong nakaka encourage pag na meet mo si @surpassinggoogle

We will po isama ko po whole team ng pampanga! @surpassinggoogle hope to see you po

Ayos! Baka we'll need an even bigger space me buong Pampanga team pa. More power po sa inyo jan sa Pampanga :)

wown that's good. I didn't think people were promoting steemit like this but I am happy.
It will definitely create awareness among people and encourage them to join it.
So what answer did you give on "where does this money come from"?

@suf1an it was actually @dreamiely who answered the question. First she asked if the audience is aware of cryptocurrency. I think the answer would be longer if they were not familiar. The audience seem familiar so she proceeds to explain mining in popular cryptocurrencies like Ethereum. She explains that for Steemit it's different and we have witnesses. 75% of what was mined by the witnesses goes to the reward pool which the users will get through an upvote (she compared it to "likes" in other social media). And again credits to @dreamiely for this answer. :)


Thanks for attending a Steemit Philippines event and for writing about it. Check out @steemph and join us in discord to connect with other Filipinos on Steemit.

Visit #events to keep updated with Steemit Philippines events.


Check out our @steemph hubs:



You're welcome and thank you too for organizing events like this. Aside from promoting Steemit, it also motivates us existing Steemians when we meet other Steemians in person. Plus, I learned a lot from this event. :)

Sayang, a friend needed me kasi so I was not able to attend. Looked like you guys had a blast! Sama kami ni @superstarxtala next time!

That's okay madami pa naman events for sure :) and madami dn hindi naka attend

im hoping to meet u guys soon :)

Sure @jvhon watch out lang sa mga post ng Filipino communities :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50